All you need to know about ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020

back icon
18 Feb 2020 | 08:43 AM
authorPramod Ananth

All you need to know about ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020

The first match of the tournament will be between defending champions Australia and India at Sydney



With just a few days left for the 2020 edition of the ICC T20 Women’s World Cup, here are some of the facts you must know about the tournament. 

What is ICC Women’s T20 World Cup?

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is a biennial T20 event among 10 nations to determine the best team in the shortest format of the game.

How do the teams qualify for the event?

The top eight teams get an automatic qualification while two teams come through a qualifier.

How does the qualifier work?

Bangladesh and Ireland finished bottom of their respective groups during the ICC Women’s World T20 in 2018 and, therefore, secured an automatic qualification for the 2019 qualifiers, along with Scotland, who were the hosts.

In total, eight teams were equally divided into two groups. The teams that finished in the top two of the two groups qualified for the semi-finals, with the winners of the semi-final qualifying for the main tournament. 

The two teams that came through the qualifiers this time around are Bangladesh and Thailand. The latter will be making their debut in the tournament.

Which team has won the T20 World Cup the most number of times?

Out of the previous six editions of the tournament, Australia have emerged victorious on four occasions and are also the defending champions. In the 2018 final, they defeated England by eight wickets at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua.

England (2009) and West Indies (2016) have won the title once each.

Who has scored the most runs and picked up the most wickets in the tournament’s history?

Former New Zealand captain Suzie Bates leads the way with the bat, having scored 881 runs from 28 innings at a strike-rate of 115.61. Among the bowlers, Australia’s Ellyse Perry has picked up more wickets (36) than anyone else in the tournament’s history and she has done so at a miserly economy rate of 5.81.

What has been the best finish of all teams participating in this edition?

Australia: Champions (2010, 2012, 2014, 2018)

England: Champions (2009)

West Indies: Champions (2016)

New Zealand: Runners-Up (2009, 2010)

India: Semi-Finalists (2009, 2010, 2018)

South Africa: Semi-Finalists (2014)

Sri Lanka: First Round (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018)

Pakistan: First Round (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018)

Bangladesh: First Round (2014, 2016, 2018)

Thailand will make their debut in 2020

Which players have won the Player of the Tournament awards at the previous editions?

2009 - Claire Taylor (England)

2010 - Nicola Browne (New Zealand)

2012 - Charlotte Edwards (England)

2014 - Anya Shrubsole (England)

2016 - Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

2018 - Alyssa Healy (Australia)

Which country will host the 2020 edition? Who have hosted the tournament in the past?

Australia will host the 2020 edition. The first edition in 2009 was hosted by England, followed by West Indies in 2010, Sri Lanka in 2012, Bangladesh in 2014, India in 2016 and again West Indies in 2018.

When will ICC T20 Women’s World Cup 2020 begin? When and where will the final be played?

The tournament will kick start on February 21, with hosts Australia taking on India in the first match at the Sydney Showground Stadium. The final will be played on March 8 (International Women’s Day) at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Which venues will host the World Cup this year?

The group stages will be played at four venues. They are: 

Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney

W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth

Manuka Oval, Canberra

Junction Oval, Melbourne

The two semi-finals will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney and then the final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.

At what time will the matches be played?

On most days, there will be two matches in a day. The day’s first match will be played at 2 PM local time (6 AM GMT), while the second match will be a night match and be played at 7 PM local time (11 AM GMT).

What is the format of the tournament?

10 teams have been divided equally into two groups. The two teams that finish at the top of each group will progress to the semi-final stage. 

Which teams are in which groups?

Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Australia and New Zealand are part of Group A. In Group B, we have South Africa, Pakistan, Thailand, West Indies and England.

shareGray Share
ICC Women's World T20, 2020

Related Articles

All that you need to know about IPL 2020
The 13th edition of the cash-rich league will kick start from September 19 in the UAE Staff
15 Sep 2020
When associate members defeated Test teams in World Cup matches in the 20th century
On this day, Zimbabwe defeated Australia during the 1983 World Cup on the back of a sensational all-round performance from Duncan Fletcher
userCricket.Com Staff
09 Jun 2020
India Women qualify for 2021 World Cup
The ODI series against Pakistan has been cancelled owing to the COVID-19 pandemic which forced the teams to share points
15 Apr 2020
Women's ODI World Cup to have reserve day for knockouts
New Zealand, Australia, England and South Africa have already qualified for the showpiece event
11 Mar 2020
Sri Lanka, West Indies in need of improved all-round T20I performances
The hosts won the ODIs 3-0, can the visitors bounce back in the T20Is?
userNitin Fernandes
03 Mar 2020
Australia presented with ICC Women's Championship trophy
Australia, England and South Africa have confirmed qualification for next year's World Cup
08 Feb 2020
All you need to know about the 2020 Under-19 World Cup
The ICC Under-19 World Cup 2020 will kick start from January 17
userPramod Ananth
16 Jan 2020
All you need to know about the ICC Under 19 World Cup 2020
The ICC Under-19 World Cup 2020 will kick start from January 17
userPramod Ananth
15 Jan 2020
2020 U19 World Cup schedule announced
Defending champions India begin their campaign against Sri Lanka
userICC media release
24 Oct 2019
Reliving the semi-finals of the most successful team in the World Cup
Australia are yet to lose a World Cup semi-final game
userSomesh Agarwal
11 Jul 2019
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved