Stats Burst: All you need to know about the Ranji Trophy 2019-20

back icon
16 Mar 2020 | 03:39 PM
Mohandas Menon

Stats Burst: All you need to know about the Ranji Trophy 2019-20

After Saurashtra’s joy at last and Bengal’s unrelenting sorrow, here are all the relevant stats from the 86th edition of the Ranji Trophy



The 86th edition of the Ranji Trophy tournament saw a new champion in Saurashtra. This is if we don’t consider the two erstwhile sides from the same area - Nawanagar (won the title in 1936/37) and Western India States (won in 1943/44). Saurashtra thus became the 19th side to win the Ranji Trophy tournament since the first edition in 1934/35 season. Meanwhile, it was heartburn for the Bengal side. Although they have managed to win the tournament twice before in 1938/39 and then in 1989/90 – they have finished runner-up for a record 12th time – the most by an Indian domestic side. This edition also saw a record 38 teams and in total 169 matches, that saw the defending champions for the last two years, Vidarbha and 41-time champions Mumbai failing to reach the last eight. A look at the highs and lows of the season in the competition. 

Other Records


Biggest victories:

By wickets: 10 wickets (on 7 occasions by 7 sides)
By runs: 464 runs by Gujarat beat Goa at Valsad
By innings: and 425 runs by Meghalaya beat Mizoram at Kolkata, VAG

Narrowest victories:       

By wickets: 1 wicket (3 occasions by 3 sides)
By runs: 21 runs Kerala beat Punjab at Thumba

Most extras conceded: 73 by Madhya Pradesh v Karnataka at Shimoga


Total individual 100s (season): 215
Total 300-plus scores (season): 3
Total 200 scores (200-299) (season): 25
100s in each innings:
178 & 205* by Rahul Dalal for Arunachal Pradesh v Mizoram at Puducherry
140 & 113* by Mohd Rahamatullah for Bihar v Arunachal Pradesh at Patna

Most 50-plus scores (season): 9 by Rahul Dalal (Arunachal Pradesh) in 17 innings
Most 50s (50 to 99) (season): 7 by Devdutt Padikkal (Karnataka) in 19 innings
Most ducks (season): Bobby Zothansanga (Mizoram) in 15 innings
Most sixes in an innings:    
13 sixes by Sanjay Yadav for Meghalaya v Mizoram at Kolkata VAG
13 sixes by Ankit Kaushik for Chandigarh v Mizoram at IT Park Chandigarh

Quick fifty (strike-rate): 228.57 (64 in 28 balls) by Suryakant Pradhan for Odisha v Services at Cuttack DRIEMS
Quick century (strike-rate): 170.66 (128 in 75 balls) by Abdul Samad for Jammu & Kashmir v Jharkhand at Ranchi
Highest batting average (season): 154.66 by Sarfaraz Khan for Mumbai – 928 runs in 9 innings and 3 not outs
Highest batting strike-rates (season): 164.74 by Suryakant Pradhan (Odisha) – 257 runs in 156 balls in 13 innings
Most 4s hit (season): 174 fours by Rahul Dalal for Arunachal Pradesh in 9 matches and 17 innings
Most 6s hit (season): 36 sixes by Abdul Samad for Jammu & Kashmir in 10 matches and 17 innings
Most innings batted (season):19 by Rahul Dalal (Arunachal Pradesh), Devdutt Padikkal (Karnataka), Harvik Desai     (Saurashtra)


Most 5-wicket hauls (season): 7 by Jaydev Unadkat (Saurashtra) in 16 innings
Most 10-wicket hauls (season): 3 by Sanjay Yadav (Meghalaya in 15 innings) and Jaydev Unadkat (Saurashtra in 16 innings)
Total five-wicket hauls (season): 233
Best bowling (in an innings): 9/52 by Sanjay Yadav for Meghalaya v Nagaland at Dimapur
Total ten-wicket match hauls (season): 33
Best bowling (in a match): 14/170 by K Gowtham for Karnataka v Tamil Nadu at Dindigul
Best bowling strike-rate (season): 24.04 balls per wicket by R Vinay Kumar for Puducherry (45 wickets in 180.2 overs)
Most economical bowler (season): 1.98 runs per over by DP Vijaykumar for Andhra (216 runs conceded in 108.5 overs)
Most balls delivered (season): 2398 balls (399.4 overs) by Dharmendra Jadeja (Saurashtra) in 18 innings
Most runs conceded (season): 1093 runs by Ishwar Chaudhury (Sikkim) in 16 innings


Best all-round performance (50 runs in an innings & 10 wkts match haul in same match)     
89 & 10/171 by Shams Mulani for Mumbai v Baroda at Vadodara
61 & 13/112 by Sanjay Yadav for Meghalaya v Nagaland at Dimapur
51 & 14/170 by K Gowtham for Karnataka v Tamil Nadu at Dindigul
81* & 11/76 by R Vinay Kumar for Puducherry v Arunachal Pradesh at Puducherry
58 & 10/164 by MB Murasingh for Tripura v Jammu & Kashmir at Agartala
56 & 12/73 by Pervez Rasool for Jammu & Kashmir v Tripura at Agartala
60 & 10/148 by Ashutosh Aman for Bihar v Arunachal Pradesh at Patna
89 & 10/125 By Axar Patel for Gujarat v Andhra at Nadiad

Best all-round performance (a century & a 5-wkt haul in an innings in same match)
241* & 5/60 by Ajay Mandal for Chhattisgarh v Uttarakhand at Raipur
113, 55 & 6/52 by Taruwar Kohli for Mizoram v Sikkim at Bhubaneshwar, KIITG
122* & 6/71 by Amit Verma for Goa v Arunachal Pradesh at Porvorim
200* & 5/19 by Gurender Singh Gill for Chandigarh v Manipur at Kolkata VAG
148 & 5/39 by Amit Verma for Goa v Mizoram at Kolkata CCFG

Best all-rounders (season):     
848 runs and 43 wickets by Amit Verma (Goa) in 10 matches
603 runs and 55 wickets by Sanjay Yadav (Meghalaya) in 9 matches
598 runs and 49 wickets by MB Murasingh (Tripura) in 9 matches
673 runs and 35 wickets by Iqbal Abdulla (Sikkim) in 9 matches
509 runs and 35 wickets by Shahbaz Ahmed (Bengal) in 11 matches


Most catches as a fielder (match): 6 catches each by 3 fieldsmen
By K Mukunth for Tamil Nadu v Himachal Pradesh at Dindigul
By Shubham Pundir for Jammu & Kashmir at Pune
By Puneet Bisht for Meghalaya v Arunachal Pradesh at Dibrugarh

Most dismissals as a keeper (innings): 6 dismissals each by 4 keepers on 5 occasions (K Srikar Bharat doing it twice)
Most dismissals as a keeper (match): 11 dism (8ct+3st) K Srikar Bharat for Andhra v Saurashtra at Ongole


Most matches played (season): 11 by Manoj Tiwary (Bengal), Shahbaz Ahmed (Bengal), Dharmendra Jadeja (Saurashtra),     Harvik Desai (Saurashtra) and Prerak Mankad (Saurashtra)

shareGray Share
BengalSaurashtraRanji Trophy 2019/20

Related Articles

IPL XI of the Year 2021, thus far
Here is an XI acknowledging the best performers in the curtailed 2021 season of IPL
userShubh Aggarwal
11 May 2021
Vijay Hazare: Kishan stars in Jharkhand's mammoth win over Madhya Pradesh
In other encounters Uttar Pradesh stun holders Karanataka, while Baroda beat Goa by five wickets
20 Feb 2021
Vijay Hazare Trophy to begin from February 20
Six cities will host the tournament and the final will be played on March 14
07 Feb 2021
Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Andhra beat Kerala by 6 wickets; Bihar posts fourth straight win
In another match, Chandigarh routed Sikkim by 131 runs for its third win to reach 14 points
17 Jan 2021
India's much-delayed domestic season finally gets underway
Veteran India speedster Ishant will make a comeback to competitive cricket since suffering a side strain during last year's IPL
09 Jan 2021
Unadkat to lead Saurashtra in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
The tournament begins from January 10 and Saurashtra is placed in Elite Group D
25 Dec 2020
Six venues with bio-secure bubbles for Mushtaq Ali tourney
Ahmedabad to host knock-outs, Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Mumbai, Indore and Chennai will host 38 teams staff
17 Dec 2020
Wouldn't have enjoyed any record if I hadn't won: Unadkat
The Saurashtra skipper played a key role in helping his side win their maiden Ranji Trophy title
14 Mar 2020
Unadkat fires Saurashtra to maiden Ranji Trophy title
The win was achieved on the basis of the first-innings lead
13 Mar 2020
Bengal fight back but Saurashtra maintain upper hand
Bengal reached 134 for three in 65 overs at close of play on day 3, trailing Saurashtra by 291 runs
11 Mar 2020
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved