All you need to know about TNPL

back icon
19 Jul 2019 | 09:38 AM
authorPramod Ananth

All you need to know about TNPL

The TNPL will showcase many India internationals like Dinesh Karthik, Washington Sundar and Abhinav Mukund among others.



The fourth edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is all set to kick start on Friday, July 19. Before you start watching, here is everything you need to know about this T20 tournament. 

What is TNPL? 

Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is an annual T20 tournament played across different venues in Tamil Nadu. The tournament began in 2016 and was started by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA). 

How many participants does TNPL 2019 have? 

Eight teams will take part in the fourth edition of the TNPL. The teams are: Chepauk Super Gillies, Lyca Kovai Kings, Dindigul Dragons, Trichy Warriors, iDream Karaikudi Kaalai, Siechem Madurai Panthers, Tuti Patriots and VB Kanchi Veerans 

Which teams have won the TNPL? 

The Tuti Patriots won the inaugural edition in 2016, while Chepauk Super Gillies and Madurai Panthers won the tournament in 2017 and 2018 respectively. 

Who are the highest run-getters and wicket-takers of TNPL? 

N Jagadeeshan with 904 runs has the most runs in the tournament’s history, while medium pacer R Sai Kishore with 30 scalps is the leading wicket-taker. 

Who are the captains of all the teams? 

Dindigul Dragons: Ravichandran Ashwin 

Chepauk Super Gillies: Vijay Shankar (Kaushik Gandhi will lead in Vijay Shankar’s absence) 

Tuti Patriots: Subramania Siva V 

Siechem Madurai Panthers: Arun Karthik

iDream Karaikudi Kalai: Srikkanth Anirudha 

Ruby Trichy Warriors: R Sai Kishore

Lyca Kovai Kings: Abhinav Mukund 

VB Kanchi Veerans: Baba Aparajith 

Who were the players picked in the TNPL player draft on July 4? 

Tuti Patriots: Tamil Kumaran, M Kamalesh, M Sathya Raj, B Senthil Nathan, SP Nathan, Akash Sivan, R Karthikeyan, Rahul Raj, Wilkinson Victor.
Chepauk Super Gillies: G Periyaswamy, D Rahul, R Thavith Kumar, Y Jeba Selvin, V Santhanasekar 

Lyca Kovai Kings: Malolan Rangarajan, Mohammed Ashik N, RS Jaganath Srinivas 

Siechem Madurai Panthers: Akash Sumra, Mithun R, SV Muruganantham, Sudhan Sanjeevi Kandepan, N Selva Kumaran, Sarath Raj A, Veeramani T 

Ruby Trichy Warriors: Aditya Ganesh, R Sathyanarayan, Aditya Barooah, K Mukunth, Neyan Shyam Kangayan, Rathnam AVR, Rooban Raj M 

VB Kanchi Veerans: NS Harish, R Suthesh, Gowtham Thamarai Kannan, P Sugendhran 

Dindigul Dragons: Karthik Saran M, Yazh Arun Mozhi, S Sujay, B Praanesh, M Anbu 

iDream Karaikudi Kalai: A Karippuswamy, Sunil Sam, RD Ashwin Kumar, Abhinav Vishnu, Ashwin Balaji 

How are the participants in the playoffs decided? 

Each team will play 7 matches in the round-robin stage. The top 4 teams make it to the playoffs. 

How are the two finalists decided? 

The team finishing on top will take on the second-placed team in Qualifier 1. The winner of the match goes straight through to the final, while the losing side will play the winner of the Eliminator (3rd vs 4th) in Qualifier 2. The winner of Qualifier 2 will then play the winner of Qualifier 1 in the final. 

Where will the round-robin matches be held? 

14 matches will be played at NPR College Ground, Dindigul, while 13 matches will be held at Indian Cement Company Ground, Tirunelveli 

When and where will the Qualifiers and the Eliminator be played? 

Qualifier 1 and Eliminator will be played on August 11 at Tirunelveli. Qualifier 2 will be played at Dindigul on August 13. 

When and where will the TNPL 2019 final be played? 

The final will be played on August 18, 2019 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. 

What are the timings of the matches? 

The night matches will begin at 7:15 PM IST, while the day games will start at 3:15 PM IST.

shareGray Share
TNPLTamil Nadu Premier League

Related Articles

All that you need to know about IPL 2020
The 13th edition of the cash-rich league will kick start from September 19 in the UAE Staff
15 Sep 2020
Tamil Nadu Premier League 2020 postponed again
TNCA hoping to host the event either in November this year or March 2021
01 Aug 2020
Karnataka beat TN by one run to defend Syed Mushtaq Ali title
Bowlers dished out a fine death over bowling display to restrict Tamil Nadu to 179 for 6
02 Dec 2019
Mithun, KL Rahul guide Karnataka to Hazare Triumph
Karnataka lifted the Vijay Hazare Trophy title with a 60-run win over Tamil Nadu
25 Oct 2019
Difficult to completely get rid of match-fixing in cricket: Gavaskar
The former Indian captain was speaking at an event in Bengaluru
23 Sep 2019
Fixing returns to haunt Indian cricket
India woman player alleges approach, TNPL under scanner too
17 Sep 2019
VB Kanchi Veerans vs Ruby Trichy Warriors: Fantasy Preview
For the Kanchi Veerans, this is a must-win match if they have to qualify for the playoffs.
userSrikar Yemmanoor
09 Aug 2019
Battle of the bottom shell
Ruby Trichy Warriors in quest for their first win
userAvijit Dutta
30 Jul 2019
IPL playoffs, final timings advanced
All four games to begin at 7:30 pm instead of 8 pm staff
30 Apr 2019
IPL 2019 final shifted from Chennai to Hyderabad
The final will be played on May 12 Staff
22 Apr 2019
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved