back icon
05 Nov 2020 | 10:09 AM
Big Bash League delayed, more venues to be used
The 10th season of the eight-franchise Twenty20 tournament was initially due to begin on December 3, but it will now start seven days later

Australia's Big Bash League was on Thursday pushed back a week, but organisers confirmed it will be played in multiple cities with state borders reopening after coronavirus shutdowns.

The 10th season of the eight-franchise Twenty20 tournament was initially due to begin on December 3, but it will now start seven days later.

The women's version is currently being played entirely in Sydney and there were concerns that also might be the case for the men.

But news in recent days that several state borders are set to reopen following a sharp drop in new coronavirus cases has allowed Hobart, Canberra, Brisbane and Adelaide to host 21 matches during December.

Venues for games in the New Year will be announced over the coming weeks with hopes that Melbourne can be added.

"This is without doubt the most complex fixturing task ever undertaken by the BBL and we are excited with where it has landed," said Cricket Australia's Big Bash League head Alistair Dobson.

"It has been a difficult year for so many people around Australia and we look forward to bringing the BBL to every state should border conditions allow us to."

All three of the world's top-ranked Twenty20 players, spinner Rashid Khan, batsman Dawid Malan and allrounder Mohammad Nabi, have signed on to play the tournament.

The action will start in Hobart with the Hurricanes facing the Sydney Sixers before the Melbourne Stars take on Brisbane Heat a day later in Canberra.

Big Bash League, 2020/21
Related Articles
CA announce full BBL schedule with Perth, Melbourne awarded fixtures
Five matches will be played at Optus Stadium in Perth, while Melbourne will host 11 games
Cricket Australia Media Release
23 Nov 2020
De Villiers to 'reluctantly' skip BBL
The South African batsman stated that he is expecting his third child and travel restrictions due to COVID-19 as his reasons
27 Oct 2020
Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers post commanding wins in WBBL
The eight-team tournament is being played entirely in Sydney over five weeks due to Covid-19 border closures and quarantine requirements
25 Oct 2020
BBL to feature three overseas cricketers in playing XI
The move follows this week’s news that the ICC’s number one ranked T20I batter, bowler and all-rounder have all signed for BBL clubs
CA Media Release
23 Oct 2020
World's top-ranked T20 trio sign up for Big Bash
Rashid Khan, the world's number one T20 bowler, will be back for Adelaide Strikers
22 Oct 2020
NSW government allows Indian team to train in quarantine
India are scheduled to play three T20s, three ODIs and four Tests in Australia
22 Oct 2020
Hobart Hurricanes rope in Malan for BBL 2020-21
The southpaw is currently the No. 1 batsman in the ICC rankings Staff
19 Oct 2020
Women's Big Bash League moved to Sydney over coronavirus
The eight-team tournament was originally set to start on October 17, with 59 games across six cities
04 Sep 2020
Sydney makes a pitch to host India-Australia Boxing Day Test
Adelaide, however, still remains favourite to host the match
08 Aug 2020
Big Bash League announces full schedule
The 10th BBL will begin on December 3 when the Adelaide Strikers host the Melbourne Renegades, followed by 60 matches across the country and a final on February 6
15 Jul 2020
Cricket like never before
Term of use
Privacy Policy
Cookies Policy
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved