back icon


BCCI announces a committee to run WPL

Last updated on 07 Dec 2023 | 07:07 PM
Google News IconFollow Us
BCCI announces a committee to run WPL

The eight-member committee includes only one female member and has no former women's cricketer

The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a committee for the Women’s Premier League (WPL) that will “play a pivotal role in steering the Women's Premier League (WPL) towards new heights.”

The committee is chaired by the BCCI president, Roger Binny, and Secretary Jay Shah will be a Convenor. The other BCCI office bearers, IPL chairperson Arun Dhumal, Vice-president Rajeev Shukla, Treasurer Ashish Shelar, and Joint Secretary Devajit Saikia, are also on the committee. 

The eight-member committee also includes Prabhtej Bhatia and the current President of the Cricket Club of India (CCI), Mrs. Madhumati Lele, who is the only female member of the committee that has been given the responsibility to run the WPL. 

The press release by the BCCI says that the committee “…brings a wealth of experience, passion for women's sports, and a shared commitment to promoting excellence in women's cricket.”

“The committee members are enthusiastic about the opportunity to contribute to the growth and success of the Women's Premier League. They look forward to collaborating with stakeholders, players, and fans to create a vibrant and competitive environment that showcases the immense talent within women's cricket.”

The WPL auction is scheduled to be held on December 9 in Mumbai, after which a decision will be taken on the venues for the second edition of the richest women’s cricket league in the World. 


Related Article