back icon

News

Cricket Australia upholds Tom Curran’s four-match BBL ban

article_imageNEWS
Last updated on 24 Dec 2023 | 11:36 AM
Follow Us
Cricket Australia upholds Tom Curran’s four-match BBL ban

Cricket Australia (CA) insisted that Curran would continue to serve his four-match ban

The 28-year-old English all-rounder Tom Curran will continue to be out of the Big Bash League (BBL) with Cricket Australia (CA) upholding his four-match ban. While Sydney Sixers tried to appeal against the decision, CA’s decision stood as full and final, with the all-rounder set for a January 3 return. 

"Umpires are part of the lifeblood of cricket and it is essential they are respected and appreciated by players at all levels of the game," Alistair Dobson, General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said in a statement.

Curran was earlier found guilty of a Level 3 offence under the governing body’s code of conduct. In the video that went viral, the all-rounder was seen ignoring the warning from fourth umpire Muhammad Qureshi before stepping on the pitch. 

Match referee Bob Parry charged the all-rounder under Article 2.17 of the code of conduct for "intimidation or attempted intimidation of an umpire, match referee or medical personnel whether by language or conduct (including gestures) during a match".

"We acknowledge the remorse Tom's shown following the appeal and look forward to seeing him back in Sixers colours.

"Tom has been a long-time contributor to the BBL and is a clear fan-favourite and someone we hope will continue to play an integral role in the competition moving forward."

After a thorough reflection, the all-rounder deeply ‘regretted’ his action and opined that he should have repositioned his run-up a metre or so to his left, which wouldn’t have resulted in the four-match ban. 

"The interaction with Umpire Qureshi took me by surprise at a time when I was very focused on my pre-match routine. I didn't expect the stand-off that resulted," Curran said in his official statement.

"I deeply regret the way I reacted to it and the resultant impact for Umpire Qureshi, the Sydney Sixers and myself personally.

"My intention was always to veer off to Umpire Qureshi's right, in a similar way to my run up at the other end. I had never considered running into him and never considered that he would think that was my intention. However, on reflection, I should have repositioned my run up a metre or so to my left. I would not do the same if the situation arose again, and I am sorry."

Related Article

Loader