Dharmasena opens up about umpiring error in World Cup final

back icon
safari
21 Jul 2019 | 02:57 PM
authorPTI

Dharmasena opens up about umpiring error in World Cup final

The Sri Lankan umpire was severely criticised for some poor decisions

heart

Share

 It indeed was a judgement error to award six runs to England from an overthrow in the World Cup final admitted umpire Kumar Dharmasena but the Sri Lankan will never “regret” the decision. Dharamsena had signalled to add six runs to England’s total, instead of five, when Martin Guptill’s throw from the deep raced to the boundary ropes after being deflected of a diving ben Stokes’ bat. 

The match was stretched to a Super Over which also remained inconclusive and eventually hosts England were declared champions on better boundary count, leaving New Zealand players in disbelief. “It’s easy for people to comment after seeing TV replays,” Dharmasena told Sunday Times. 

“I agree that there was a judgment error when I see it on TV replays now. But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I will never regret the decision I made. Besides, the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time.” 

The TV replays showed that Adil Rashid and Stokes had not completed the second run when Guptill released the ball from the deep. Dharmasena, who was standing as head umpire, consulted leg umpire Marais Erasmus and added six runs to the England total following the incident -- four runs for the ball reaching the boundary plus two for running between the wicket. England needed nine from the final three balls. This changed to three off two balls. The 48-year-old added that according to the law, there was no provision to consult the third umpire on the incident. 

“There is no provision in the law to refer this to the third umpire as no dismissal was involved.” he said. 

“So, I did consult the leg umpire through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee. And, while they cannot check TV replays, they all confirmed that the batsmen have completed the run. This is when I made my decision.” 

Former international umpires Simon Taufel and K Hariharan had also come out and said the officials standing in the World Cup final erred by awarding six runs. 

Law 19.8 of the ICC rules, pertaining to ‘Overthrow or willful act of fielder’, states: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.” 

“One must understand that there were too many things on our plate. We had to watch the batsmen complete the first run, the ball being fielded, how it was handled by the fielder and whether the batsmen completed the second run. And where the throw would come from, the striker’s end or non-striker’s end.” 

“In this case, we were all happy that the batsmen had completed the second run because the ball ricocheted off Stokes’s bat at the time of him completing the second run. So, we assumed that they had crossed each other at the time of fielder releasing the ball,” Dharmasena said.

heart
shareGray Share
Tags
Kumar DharmasenaSri Lanka2019 World CUp2019 World Cup final

Related Articles

safari
NEWS
The umpire should have been man of the match: Sehwag
The former India cricketer was not pleased with the umpiring decision that cost KXIP the game
userCricket.com Staff
21 Sep 2020
safari
ONTHISDAY
The 2019 World Cup final and tiebreakers in sport
On this day in 2019, England won the ODI World Cup after getting the better of New Zealand via the boundary count back rule
userNitin Fernandes
14 Jul 2020
safari
NEWS
Kohli not pleased with late DRS run-out call
Meanwhile, West Indies skipper Pollard said the right decision was made in the end
userPTI
16 Dec 2019
safari
NEWS
New Zealand win MCC's Spirit of Cricket award
The Black Caps were bestowed with the Christopher Martin-Jenkins Spirit of Cricket award for its exemplary show of sportsmanship during the epic final of the ICC World Cup at Lord's in July
userPTI
03 Dec 2019
safari
NEWS
Never asked umpire to cancel four off overthrow in WC final: Stokes
The England star also mentioned that he apologised to Williamson and Latham.
userPTI
31 Jul 2019
safari
NEWS
Stokes asked umpires not to add four overthrows to England's total: Anderson
If the England all-rounder had his way, the match might have never reached a tie and gone to a Super Over, where both teams scored 15 runs and England eventually won the World Cup on boundary count.
userPTI
17 Jul 2019
safari
NEWS
Giles unperturbed by 'six-run' decision
ECB director's comments come in the light of WC final controversy
userAFP
16 Jul 2019
safari
NEWS
England mistakenly awarded an extra run: Taufel
A freak fielding deflection off Ben Stokes’ bat that raced to the boundary saw the team awarded six runs with three balls to go.
userAFP
15 Jul 2019
safari
NEWS
Dharmasena to stand in World Cup final despite Roy row
Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus will be the onfield umpires for the final
userAFP
12 Jul 2019
safari
NEWS
Jason Roy free to play in final despite umpire outburst
Roy was furious after wrongly given out by Dharmasena and vented out his frustrations
userAFP
11 Jul 2019
logo
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
FacebookTwitterLinkedin
@ 2020 cricket.com | All rights reserved