back icon


Domestic season to begin with Duleep Trophy

Last updated on 10 Apr 2023 | 09:37 AM
Follow Us
Domestic season to begin with Duleep Trophy

The 2023-2024 season will also see the return of the Deodhar Trophy after a three-year hiatus

Deodhar Trophy, one of the oldest tournaments in the history of Indian cricket, is all set to return to the domestic calendar after three year-hiatus due to the pandemic. 

The last edition was played in Ranchi between India A, B and C in October and November 2019. With the ODI World Cup slated to commence later this year, the BCCI has introduced the tournament to give the players ample opportunities to stake a claim for themselves in the mega event.

The domestic season will kick off with the Duleep Trophy, the zonal red-ball tournament from June 28 to July 16, before the action shifting to Deodhar Trophy in the zonal format with six zones competing from July 24 to August 3, stated the BCCI press release. 

The current Ranji Trophy champions, Saurashtra, will take on the Rest of India in the Irani Cup at home from October 1 to 5 before the focus shifts to white-ball formats. 

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is expected to commence on October 16, and the fifty-over List A games will begin on November 23. Ranji Trophy, India's premier domestic tournament, will start on January 5, and the summit clash is set to take place on March 14. 

"The Board plans to start the season a bit early in a bid to accommodate all the tournaments. The office-bearers and the logistics team are working in tandem to ensure that the process is smooth and all the tournaments can be fitted in," said a Board insider, as quoted by Sportstar. 

The women's domestic season will kickstart with the Senior Women's T20 Trophy on October 19 followed by Inter-Zonal T20 Trophy on November 24. 

 Senior Women's One-Day trophy will commence on January 04, 2024, and the summit clash will take place on January 26. 

Men's Schedule:

Duleep Trophy: June 28 to July 16 

Deodhar Trophy: July 24 to August 3

Irani Cup: October 1 to 5

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: October 16 to November 6

Vijay Hazare Trophy: November 23 to December 15

Ranji Trophy: January 5 2024, to March 14 2024

Women's Schedule:

Senior Women's T20 Trophy: October 19 to November 9

Senior Women's Inter-Zonal Trophy: November 24 to December 4

Senior Women's One-Day Trophy: January 4 2024 to 26 January

Related Article