Everything you need to know about 3T Cricket

back icon
17 Jun 2020 | 11:32 AM
authorCricket.com staff

Everything you need to know about 3T Cricket

Here's a ready explainer of what's in store for the unique match on 27th June



Top South African cricketers will be seen in action in an exhibition match; named the 'Solidarity Cup' - to raise funds for the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic - on 27th June at SuperSport Park in Centurion. The match will be a unique affair with a novel never-before-seen format. Here are the key things related to the format, match and teams.

What is 3TC?

3TC stands for (three team cricket) where three teams take part in a 36-over game to determine who ends up the winner.

Format and rules

Each team consists of 8 players each.

The 3TC  match is played for 36 overs with each innings consisting of 18 overs. There will be a break after 18 overs.

Each team bats for 12 overs in an innings - facing the other two in 6-over bursts.

In the first half a draw will determine who rotates from batting to bowling while in the second half, the first innings scores are used to determine the order in which teams bat. If the scores are tied, the first half order is reversed.

After the fall of 7 wickets, the last batsman remains alone but can only score in even number of runs. If 7 wickets fall in the first half, then the team forfeits the innings and the single batsman continues his innings in the 2nd half.

A maximum of three overs per bowler is allowed. 

Each bowling team has the use of a new ball for 12 overs of their innings which is to be used against both opponents.

3 additional fielders can be allowed, either selected by each team or provided by the dugout opponent, in which case fielding restrictions may be applied.

Standard limited-overs rules apply for wides, bouncers and a free-hit after a no-ball, otherwise the laws of cricket apply.

A match can only be shortened by weather to 18, 24 or 30 overs in terms of a formula laid down by 3TC.

The winner will be the team which scores the most runs and they will win Gold. If two teams are tied, then a Super Over will decide Gold. If all three are tied, then all will get Gold.

If two teams are tied for second place, Silver will be shared.

Teams for the game

AB’s Eagles: AB de Villiers (c), Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Andile, Phehlukwayo, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Kyle Verreynne, Sisanda Magala.

KG’s Kingfishers: Kagiso Rabada (c), Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenton Stuurman

Quinny’s Kites: Quinton de Kock (c), David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Anrich Nortje, Dwayne Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Lutho Sipamla

Venue, date and time for the game

The match will be played on 27th June at SuperSport Park in Centurion with a start scheduled for 2:30pm IST.

Safety measures in place

A strict COVID-19 protocol will be followed for the game.

It will be played behind closed doors.

Everyone who will be present in the stadium will wear masks.

The players will be kept in a sanitised eco-system and will be there for the game 3 days before the start date, following all the procedures.

Image courtesy: 3team.cricket.

shareGray Share
South AfricaAbraham Benjamin de VilliersKagiso RabadaQuinton de Kock

Related Articles

Problem of plenty for England, and plenty of problems for SA
There are number of spots still up for grabs in the South African batting order, while England are much more settled
userHardik Worah
26 Nov 2020
Two South African players in culture camp test positive for COVID-19
There were no replacements made for the two players who tested positive. All those unable to attend the camp will join the proceedings virtually
userCricket South Africa Media Release
20 Aug 2020
Quinton de Kock pulls out of 3TC Solidarity Cup
Proteas batsman Temba Bavuma will lead the Kites in the absence of de Kock in Centurion
18 Jul 2020
Rabada, Morris to miss 3TC Solidarity Cup encounter
Medium pacer Sisanda Magala too has pulled out due to the death of a immediate family member
16 Jul 2020
Postponed 3TC match to be held on July 18
The teams that will take part in the match are the Eagles, to be captained by AB de Villiers, Kingfishers, to be led by Kagiso Rabada and the Kites, which will have Quinton de Kock as skipper
01 Jul 2020
New-look South Africa seek fresh start
Having won the T20I series, Australia will look to take that form into the ODIs
userPramod Ananth
27 Feb 2020
A fitting finale on the cards?
After two nail-biting finishes, the third and final T20I will be played at SuperSport Park, Centurion
userPramod Ananth
15 Feb 2020
Upbeat South Africa aim to seal series against England
Proteas will be all charged up going into the second T20I after pulling off a miraculous one-run win in the first encounter
userHardik Worah
13 Feb 2020
Proteas look to press for a morale-boosting series win
The hosts have a 1-0 lead going into the final ODI against England at Johannesburg
userPramod Ananth
08 Feb 2020
South Africa name six uncapped players for England Tests
Ngidi and Mulder have not been considered due to injuries
userCSA Media Release
16 Dec 2019
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 cricket.com | All rights reserved