Five-team finals revamp for shortened Big Bash season

back icon
25 Jul 2019 | 07:31 AM

Five-team finals revamp for shortened Big Bash season

There will be the usual 56 games but in a shorter span with more double-headers



Australia’s Twenty20 Big Bash League unveiled a new-look finals series and a shorter season following fan feedback. 

The ninth year of the domestic competition, starting on December 17, will again see the eight franchises playing 56 regular season games, but they will be condensed into 42 days with more double-headers. 

Five teams will now be involved in the finals with a new system that gives a double-chance for the regular season’s top two teams. 

The fourth and fifth-placed teams will play in the newly titled “The Eliminator” with the winner facing the third-placed team in “The Knock-Out”. 

Teams finishing first and second play “The Qualifier”, with the loser taking on the winner of “The Knock Out” in “The Challenger”. 

It will culminate with “The Final” between the Challenger and Qualifier winners. 

“We’ve listened and now have a shortened fixture, more consistent timeslots, a continued regional footprint and a stronger finals format which will give fans the best opportunity to experience the BBL,” said BBL head of leagues Alistair Dobson. 

“The finals format has been set to make it the best possible end to the season, rewarding the top two teams with a double chance and giving the winner hosting rights of The Final,” he added.

“At the same time, it’s a more challenging and entertaining prospect for fourth and fifth to go on and win the competition.” 

Aaron Finch’s Melbourne Renegades won the 2018-19 title, beating city rivals the Stars in a tense final. Brisbane Heat kick off this year’s event against Sydney Thunder.

shareGray Share
Big Bash 2019New Format

Related Articles

Statistical Highlights: Knockout – Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat
Season’s best partnership for Brisbane Heat take them just one step adrift from the final of BBL 10
userAnirudh Kasargod
31 Jan 2021
Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat, BBL 2020/21, Knockout: Fantasy Preview
Here are a few tips and suggestions that might help you in creating your fantasy team for the Knockout contest of BBL 2020/21 between Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat at the Manuka Oval in Canberra
userCricket.Com Staff
30 Jan 2021
Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat, BBL 2020/21, Match 49: Fantasy Preview
Here are a few tips and suggestions that might help you in creating your fantasy team for the 49th match of BBL 2020/21 between Melbourne Renegades and Brisbane Heat at the Docklands Stadium in Melbourne
userCricket.Com Staff
22 Jan 2021
Stars aim to topple depleted Renegades as finals race hots up
A win here would take Maxwell and Co. to second position in the points table
userHardik Worah
19 Jan 2021
Thunder prolong Renegades’ nightmare run in BBL 10
Melbourne Renegades suffer yet another humiliating defeat
userPramod Ananth
26 Dec 2020
All you need to know about Big Bash League 2020-21
The 10th edition of the Australian T20 league will kick start from Thursday (December 10) Staff
09 Dec 2020
Big Bash League delayed, more venues to be used
The 10th season of the eight-franchise Twenty20 tournament was initially due to begin on December 3, but it will now start seven days later
05 Nov 2020
All that you need to know about IPL 2020
The 13th edition of the cash-rich league will kick start from September 19 in the UAE Staff
15 Sep 2020
Four remaining PSL matches to be held in November: PCB
The Board said "all games will be played under COVID-19 protocols, including bio-secure bubble for the players, match officials and event-related staff
03 Sep 2020
Big Bash League announces full schedule
The 10th BBL will begin on December 3 when the Adelaide Strikers host the Melbourne Renegades, followed by 60 matches across the country and a final on February 6
15 Jul 2020
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved