India to host 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup

back icon
26 Jul 2022 | 05:02 PM staff

India to host 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup

ICC confirmed that Bangladesh and England will host 2024 and 2026 T20 World Cups

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Tuesday, confirmed that India will host the 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup, where Australia will defend their title. It will be the fifth ICC Women’s tournament in the country, with four of them being the 50-over competition. Eight teams will compete in the tournament comprising of 31 matches. 

"We were keen on hosting the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2025 and we are glad we have won the hosting rights for this marquee clash on the women's calendar," BCCI president Sourav Ganguly was quoted as saying in an ICC release.

"The sport has undergone tremendous transformation since then. The popularity of women's cricket is rapidly rising, and this is a step in the right direction. The BCCI will work closely with the ICC and fulfil all the requirements."

BCCI secretary Jay Shah said: "We are taking several steps to raise the profile of the sport right from the grassroots level and hosting the World Cup will further boost the popularity of the sport in the country.

"The BCCI remains committed to women's cricket in India. We have the infrastructure in place, and I am confident we will have a very successful edition of the World Cup."

Bangladesh will host the 2024 T20 World Cup, the first major ICC women’s tournament in the country and the country’s second T20 World Cup after 2014. The 2026 T20 World Cup will be hosted in England, a debut Women’s T20 World Cup on English soil. 

"We’re absolutely delighted that we’ve been selected to host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2026. We saw back in 2017 how hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup captured people’s imagination and I’ll never forget watching Heather Knight lift the trophy on that magical day at a sold-out Lord’s,” Claire Connor, interim ECB CEO said.

Sri Lanka will have the concluding rights of this cycle, with the Women’s ICC Champions Trophy in the Island nation, a tournament where six teams will compete across 16 games from 2027.

"Sri Lanka Cricket gives utmost importance to the growth of women’s cricket; hence we consider, being bestowed the honour of hosting ICC Women's T20 Champions Trophy 2027, is an excellent opportunity for us to be a part of the global growth program launched by the International Cricket Council to develop women’s cricket."

The tournament hosts were picked by a bidding process under the watchful eyes of Martin Snedden, along with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt.

shareGray Share
India WomenSourav Ganguly

Related Articles

No Articles found
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved