India's much-delayed domestic season finally gets underway

back icon
09 Jan 2021 | 07:55 AM

India's much-delayed domestic season finally gets underway

Veteran India speedster Ishant will make a comeback to competitive cricket since suffering a side strain during last year's IPL



India will witness its first major cricket tournament in the country since the COVID-19 disruption when the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy begins the much-delayed domestic season from Sunday, presenting a platform for the hopefuls to impress before IPL auctions.

The presence of seasoned campaigners such as Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina and Ishant Sharma will add sheen to the tournament but one of the biggest talking points in the lead-up has been S Sreesanth's comeback to top-flight cricket after serving a ban for his alleged involvement in the 2013 IPL corruption scandal.

Sreesanth, 37, will turn out for Kerala in the national T20 championship from January 10-31.

But the focus, mostly, will be on domestic uncapped players with the IPL auctions scheduled in February.

The tournament also assumes significance as it is an opportunity for the new senior selection committee to draw up a wider pool of players for the T20 World Cup, which will be played in India later this year.

No cricketing activity had happened since mid-March last year and after meticulous planning, the BCCI decided to conduct the tournament at six different venues with as many bio bubbles.

The teams have been divided into six groups -- five Elite and one Plate and the league stage matches will be played at Mumbai, Vadodara, Indore, Kolkata, Chennai and Bengaluru with the knockouts scheduled in Ahmedabad.

The lead-up had its share of controversies with many players lodging a complaint after being served poor quality food in a posh South Mumbai hotel. Then, staff members of a hotel in Chennai, where players of three Plate Group teams were staying, were found COVID-19 positive.

However, once the tournament starts, the focus will shift completely on the players, including young guns such as Ruturaj Gaikwad, Priyam Garg, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube, Sarfaraz Khan, R Sai Kishore, M Siddharth.

Then there are the seasoned pros too, looking to get their act together in the World Cup year.

Veteran India speedster Ishant will make a comeback to competitive cricket since suffering a side strain during last year's IPL.

Ishant will turn out for Delhi under the captaincy of another senior India player, Shikhar Dhawan, who will use the tournament as a preparatory ground ahead of the upcoming white-ball series against England.

India seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has been named in the Uttar Pradesh team, will also be keen to prove his fitness and form.

He had sustained a thigh muscle injury during the IPL and was ruled out of the Australia Australia tour. Coming off a stint at the National Cricket Academy (NCA), it will be Kumar's first competitive tournament post the injury.

Former India player Suresh Raina, who will be representing Uttar Pradesh, will start afresh after he pulled out of the IPL citing personal reasons.

The tournament is equally important for the flamboyant Suryakaumar Yadav, who would like to make a point before the new selection panel after being snubbed for the Australia tour by the former committee.

Surya, one of the great white-ball exponents in domestic cricket, will be keen to lead his team from the front in the absence of India batsman, Shreyas Iyer.

Young left-arm pacer Arjun Tendulkar, son of legendary Sachin Tendulkar, has been picked for the Mumbai senior team for the first time and if he plays even one game for the domestic giants, he would be eligible for IPL auctions.

While defending champions Karnataka will be looking to retain the title, they will face stiff competition from others.

The successful hosting of the competition can pave the way for the BCCI to conduct the remaining tournaments of the domestic calendar.


Elite Group A: Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Railways, Tripura (Venue Bengaluru)

Elite Group B: Odisha, Bengal, Jharkhand, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Hyderabad (Venue Kolkata)

Elite Group C: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda, Uttarakhand (Venue Vadodara)

Elite Group D: Services, Saurashtra, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Goa (Venue Indore)

Elite Group E: Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Mumbai, Kerala, Puducherry (Venue Mumbai)

Plate Group: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh (Venue - Chennai).

shareGray Share
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, 2021Ishant SharmaSuresh Kumar RainaArjun Sachin TendulkarShanthakumaran Sreesanth

Related Articles

Vijay Hazare Trophy to begin from February 20
Six cities will host the tournament and the final will be played on March 14
07 Feb 2021
Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Andhra beat Kerala by 6 wickets; Bihar posts fourth straight win
In another match, Chandigarh routed Sikkim by 131 runs for its third win to reach 14 points
17 Jan 2021
Arjun Tendulkar makes Mumbai senior team debut
Over the years, Arjun has been playing age-group tournaments for Mumbai and has also been a part of the team, which plays invitational tournaments
15 Jan 2021
Food quality improves after Mumbai management steps in ahead of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
The tournament will begin from January 10, kicking off the much-delayed 2020-21 domestic season
04 Jan 2021
Six venues with bio-secure bubbles for Mushtaq Ali tourney
Ahmedabad to host knock-outs, Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Mumbai, Indore and Chennai will host 38 teams staff
17 Dec 2020
BCCI proposes shortened domestic season for 2020-21
The board has suggested four options on the conduct starting with having only the blue-riband Ranji Trophy
29 Nov 2020
Scrap Hazare, Duleep and Deodhar Trophy this season: Wasim Jaffer
Jaffer wants a rejigged domestic season to ensure that the players get enough breaks and are not rushed into tournaments
15 Jun 2020
Stats Burst: All you need to know about the Ranji Trophy 2019-20
After Saurashtra’s joy at last and Bengal’s unrelenting sorrow, here are all the relevant stats from the 86th edition of the Ranji Trophy
userMohandas Menon
16 Mar 2020
India Under-19 - Know your squad
Here's everything you need to know about the India squad participating in the 2020 Under-19 World Cup
userHardik Worah
18 Jan 2020
BCCI announces domestic schedule for upcoming season
The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will now take place ahead of the IPL auction
03 Jul 2019
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved