back icon
18 Nov 2020 | 06:27 AM
Kandy Tuskers rope in Munaf Patel for LPL
The former India pacer will pair up with former India teammate Irfan Pathan in the tournament

Former India pacer Munaf Patel has been roped in by Kandy Tuskers for the inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) scheduled to begin on November 26. The 37-year-old Patel, who has played 13 Test matches, 70 ODIs and three T20Is, was a part of India's 2011 World Cup-winning team. He will pair up with former India teammate Irfan Pathan in the tournament.

"Former India fast bowler Munaf Patel has signed a contract to @KandyTuskers," the LPL wrote on its twitter handle on Tuesday.

Besides this development, there were reports that former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has pulled out of the tournament. Sarfaraz, who was supposed to captain the Galle Gladiators franchise, will no longer take part in the tournament as he has been selected in the national team for the New Zealand Tour.

"Sarfaraz has been selected in the Pakistan squad for the New Zealand tour and hence he is not travelling (to Sri Lanka)," Moin Khan, the Galle franchise coach, was quoted as saying by

"Now we have to decide the new captain. Will sit with the team owner and the management and decide in a day or two."

The report also said that Sri Lanka's T20 skipper Lasith Malinga, who was supposed to spearhead the pace attack of the Gladiators, "is in two minds whether to play the LPL or not."

Malinga, who had opted out of the recently-concluded IPL in the UAE citing personal reasons, has "indicated a desire to pull out." "He has not been able to train for quite some time and is a little hesitant. We are persuading him to play. He is a celebrity and we don't want to miss him," team owner Nadeem Omar said.

The Gladiators will begin their campaign with a clash with Jaffna Stallions on November 27. Apart from the Gladiators, the four other teams have reached Hambantota and entered into a bio-secure bubble. However, there are uncertainty over the participation of Chris Gayle, who was roped in by Kandy Tuskers franchise.

"There is also uncertainty about Chris Gayle's involvement in the league ... Gayle is still negotiating the terms of his contract with the Tuskers," a report in ESPNcricinfo said.

The report also said that Jaffna Stallions have roped in former South Africa fast bowlers Kyle Abbott and Duanne Olivier as replacement for Pakistan batsman Asif Ali and England batsman Dawid Malan. Malan has been drafted into England's forthcoming tour of South Africa and will not be available.

"Stallions had also announced that batsmen Ravi Bopara and Shoaib Malik would be part of their squad, but their involvement is now also uncertain," the report said.

Munaf Musa PatelKandy TuskersLanka Premier League, 2020LPL 2020
Related Articles
Afridi to miss at least two LPL matches after missing flight
Afridi was named the captain of Galle Gladiators after Sri Malinga Sarfaraz made themselves unavailable
24 Nov 2020
Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in inaugural LPL
Pakistani players who will be seen in action in the league, include Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Aamir, Ehsan Ali, Azam Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shoaib Malik
22 Nov 2020
Tanvir, Ravinderpal Singh test positive for COVID-19 ahead of LPL
Both the cricketers are expected to be out for at least two weeks
20 Nov 2020
Gayle, Plunkett, Sarfaraz pull out of LPL
The LPL is scheduled to start on November 26 with a clash between Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers in Hambantota
19 Nov 2020
Pathan to play for Kandy Tuskers in LPL
The LPL is scheduled to be played from November 21 to December 13
01 Nov 2020
Five overseas players including Russell, du Plessis pull out of LPL
The five-team tournament is scheduled to be held at two venues - Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium
27 Oct 2020
Gayle, Sammy among others in Lanka Premier League auctions
Five teams named after the Sri Lankan cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will take part
12 Sep 2020
Delayed Sri Lanka Premier League to begin mid-November
The 23-match Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be held from November 14 to December 6, with matches in Dambulla, Kandy and Hambantota
03 Sep 2020
Irfan Pathan among players showing interest in Lanka Premier League: Report
The BCCI does not allow active Indian players to take part in overseas T20 leagues but Pathan is believed to have been cleared as he has already retired
01 Aug 2020
Jason Roy accuses Wahab Riaz of ball-tampering during PSL game
In their match report, the Quetta Gladiators had pointed out that the condition of the ball was changed, but did not name anyone
24 Feb 2020
Cricket like never before
Term of use
Privacy Policy
Cookies Policy
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved