back icon


Kolkata and Ahmedabad set to host VHT and SMAT knockouts

Last updated on 06 Sep 2022 | 11:59 AM
Follow Us
Kolkata and Ahmedabad set to host VHT and SMAT knockouts

BCCI also confirmed that there would be two Irani Cup ties as reported earlier

Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the knock-out stages of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, during the end week of October, with the final of the 20-over competition on November 5 and 50-over competition on December 2. 

On the other hand, Lucknow, Indore, Rajkot, Punjab and Jaipur will host the 20-over competition while Mumbai, Bangalore, Delhi, Kolkata and Ranchi will host the group stages of the Vijay Hazare Trophy competition. 

As reported by PTI on Sunday, the Board also confirmed that the two Irani Cup ties will be held at the start and end of season.

The 2020 Ranji Trophy champions Saurashtra will host Rest of India from October 1-5 while current champions Madhya Pradesh host ROI from March 1-5 next year, as per the scheduled shared by BCCI to state units.

Saurashtra were not able to play the Irani Cup after their maiden Ranji triumph in March 2020 due to the outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic.

The inaugural women's under-15 event will be played from December 26 to January 12 across five venues including Bangalore, Ranchi, Rajkot, Indore, Raipur, Pune.

"BCCI is glad to announce a girls U-15 One Day tournament. This tournament is introduced to create a pathway for our youngsters which will help introduce fresh talent," read a BCCI note to state units.

The season begins with Duleep Trophy in September 8 to 25. The premier domestic event, Ranji Trophy, returns to the traditional home and away format and will run from December 12 to February 20.


Related Article