back icon


Meg Lanning to lead Delhi Capitals in WPL 2023

Last updated on 02 Mar 2023 | 07:57 AM
Follow Us
Meg Lanning to lead Delhi Capitals in WPL 2023

Jemimah Rodrigues will be her deputy for the inaugural edition of the competition

A couple of days after leading Australia to their record sixth title in the shortest format of the T20 World Cup in South Africa,Β Meg Lanning has been named as the captain of the Delhi Capitals ahead of the inaugural edition of the Women's Premier League.Β 

The Australian skipper led the team in 100 T20I matches and is the only player across men and women to have five world titles as a captain.Β 

"It's a very proud moment for me, firstly to be involved with Delhi Capitals and then to lead them. It's about enjoying yourself, getting the best out of yourself," Lanning said as quoted by ESPN Cricinfo.Β 

"WPL is a massive moment for the sport, it's the logical next step and makes a lot of sense. Cricket in India is people's lives, and the fact that WPL is up and running, and to be involved in something like this, is amazing. It's only going to grow in the coming years," she further added.Β 

Along with Lanning's appointment, the Capitals have also named Jemimah Rodrigues as the vice-captain of the side ahead of their opening clash against the Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday, March 5 at the Brabourne Stadium.Β 

The right-handed batter is the third Australian player to lead a franchise in the WPL, withΒ Alyssa HealyΒ and Beth Mooney at the helm of UP Warriorz and Gujarat Giants, respectively.Β Β 

In her 132 T20I matches, Lanning has amassed 3405 runs at an average of 36.61 and a strike rate of 116, including two hundreds and 15 half-centuries.Β 

Delhi Capitals squad:

Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning (Captain), Alice Capsey, Shikha Pandey, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Sneha Deepthi, Titas Sadhu, Tara Norris, Jasia Akhter and Aparna Mondal.

Related Article