back icon


Mitchell Marsh wins Allan Border Medal for first time

Last updated on 31 Jan 2024 | 10:53 AM
Follow Us
Mitchell Marsh wins Allan Border Medal for first time

The Australia all-rounder also won the ODI Player of the Year, while Nathan Lyon and Jason Behrendorff walked away with the Test and T20I Player of the Year awards, respectively

Following a stellar 2023, Mitchell Marsh has won the Allan Border Medal for the best Australian cricketer of the year for the first time. The all-rounder also took home the ODI Player of the Year as well. Nathan Lyon, who did not find a place in the ICC Test team of the year, was named the Shane Warne Test cricketer of the year. The off-spinner finished 2023 as the leading Test wicket-taker with 47 scalps at 24.95 in 10 Tests. Recently, he also became the third Australian bowler after Warne and Glenn McGrath to 500 wickets in the format.

Fast bowler Jason Behrendorff, who picked up eight wickets in five matches, has been named the T20I player of the year.

Meanwhile, Australia captain Pat Cummins, awarded the ICC Cricketer of the Year, returned empty-handed from the Australian awards ceremony. Marsh pipped Cummins for the Allan Border Medal by 79 votes to become the first all-rounder since Shane Watson in 2011 to win the prized trophy.

“I hadn’t really thought about it until a few of the boys started getting stuck into me that they thought I was going to win it, then I started thinking maybe I’m a chance,” Marsh said while accepting the award.

“I had four beers at lunch, so I had to stop there." Now I’m sort of hoping that me winning this isn’t like COVID, and we’ll look back in three years time and go that was a weird time.

“One of my friends sent me today the list [of previous winners], and I just thought if I win, it’s going to look weird. To think that I’ve joined some of the legends of our sport, it really is a huge honour. I can’t believe it,” said Marsh.

Marsh had a terrific year for Australia, establishing himself as a key player across formats. He scored 540 Test runs at 67.50, including a ton and four fifties. Overall, he hit 858 runs in the format at an average of over 47. 

He led Australia to a T20I whitewash against South Africa and slammed a couple of tons in the ODI World Cup in India, which Australia ended up winning. He will also lead the side in the upcoming T20Is against West Indies at home.

His workload with the ball was reduced drastically, having bowled just 61 overs across formats, picking up six wickets.

Other awards: 

Belinda Clark Award: Ashleigh Gardner

Women's ODI and T20I Player of the Year: Ellyse Perry

Men's Domestic Player of the Year: Cameron Bancroft

Women's Domestic Player of the Year: Elyse Villani & Sophie Day

BBL Player of the Tournament: Matt Short

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Emma de Brought

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Fergus O'Neill

Related Article