back icon
01 Nov 2020 | 06:57 AM
Pathan to play for Kandy Tuskers in LPL
The LPL is scheduled to be played from November 21 to December 13

Former India pacer Irfan Pathan on Sunday said he will play in the Lanka Premier League (LPL) for Kandy Tuskers franchise. The Kandy-based team has West Indies legend Chris Gayle, local star Kusal Perera, Sri Lankan T20 specialists Kusal Mendis and Nuwan Pradeep and England right-arm fast bowler Liam Plunkett among others. Former Sri Lanka captain Hashan Tillakaratne is also a part of the Kandy Tuskers coaching staff.

The 36-year-old Pathan, who retired from all forms of cricket earlier this year after playing 29 Tests, 120 ODIs and 24 T20Is, said he was looking forward to the T20 tournament. "I am extremely excited to be part of the Kandy franchisee in LPL. We have some exciting names in the team and I am looking forward for the experience, the Baroda-based Pathan was quoted as saying in a statement issued by LPL.

Kandy franchise owner Sohail Khan said, "Irfan's inclusion will not only add to the firepower of the squad but his experience will be a huge asset to the team."

The LPL is scheduled to be played from November 21 to December 13 at two venues -- Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota and Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

Irfan Khan PathanLanka Premier League, 2020LPL 2020Kandy Tuskers
Related Articles
Afridi to miss at least two LPL matches after missing flight
Afridi was named the captain of Galle Gladiators after Sri Malinga Sarfaraz made themselves unavailable
24 Nov 2020
Tanvir, Ravinderpal Singh test positive for COVID-19 ahead of LPL
Both the cricketers are expected to be out for at least two weeks
20 Nov 2020
Gayle, Plunkett, Sarfaraz pull out of LPL
The LPL is scheduled to start on November 26 with a clash between Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers in Hambantota
19 Nov 2020
Kandy Tuskers rope in Munaf Patel for LPL
The former India pacer will pair up with former India teammate Irfan Pathan in the tournament
18 Nov 2020
Five overseas players including Russell, du Plessis pull out of LPL
The five-team tournament is scheduled to be held at two venues - Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium
27 Oct 2020
Gayle, Sammy among others in Lanka Premier League auctions
Five teams named after the Sri Lankan cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will take part
12 Sep 2020
Delayed Sri Lanka Premier League to begin mid-November
The 23-match Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be held from November 14 to December 6, with matches in Dambulla, Kandy and Hambantota
03 Sep 2020
Sri Lanka postpone new premier league to November
The tournament has been postponed as health authorities insisted on a two-week quarantine for foreign players
11 Aug 2020
Irfan Pathan among players showing interest in Lanka Premier League: Report
The BCCI does not allow active Indian players to take part in overseas T20 leagues but Pathan is believed to have been cleared as he has already retired
01 Aug 2020
Perera, Pradeep return for West Indies T20Is
The two T20Is will be played in Pallekele on March 4 and 6
27 Feb 2020
Cricket like never before
Term of use
Privacy Policy
Cookies Policy
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved