back icon
21 Aug 2020 | 07:37 AM
Perry finds place in Aussie squad for NZ series but participation subject to fitness
Australia are the current holder of the Rose Bowl Trophy having defeated New Zealand 3-0 in their ODI series in 2019

Star all-rounder Ellyse Perry, recovering from a hamstring injury, was on Friday named in an 18-player Australian women squad for the T20I and ODI series against New Zealand in September but her participation will be subject to fitness.

New Zealand will travel to Australia for three One-Day Internationals and as many Twenty20 Internationals.

Australia are the current holder of the Rose Bowl Trophy having defeated New Zealand 3-0 in their ODI series in 2019.

"We've selected a slightly larger squad than usual because of a number of COVID-related considerations and, with no matches leading in, players have been picked on performances both for Australia and Australia A over the last 12-to-24 months," National Selector Shawn Flegler said in a Cricket Australia statement.

The release added that speedster Tayla Vlaeminck was unavailable for selection while Perry has been named subject to fitness.

"Tayla has had a slight setback in her return from the foot injury she suffered ahead of the T20 World Cup which means she'll miss this series as well as this season's rebel WBBL tournament.

"Ellyse is progressing well from a significant hamstring injury and we want to give her every chance to be available for selection, so we'll continue to monitor her progress over the coming weeks."

Matches will be played in both New South Wales and Queensland but given the current COVID situation changes may be required.

"Cricket Australia will continue to work with relevant authorities and advise any changes," the statement added.


Meg Lanning (C), Rachael Haynes (VC), Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Belinda Vakarewa

Ellyse Alexandra PerryAustralia WomenNew Zealand WomenMeghann Moira LanningAlyssa Jean Healy
Related Articles
Khawaja axed; Labuschagne, Burns among six new faces to land CA contracts
Besides Khawaja, Handscomb, Stoinis, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Marcus Harris, and Shaun Marsh were also not included
30 Apr 2020
Injured Ellyse Perry undergoes surgery to treat hamstring injury
It would take up to six months for Perry to recover and she was set to miss the limited-overs tour of South Africa as well as the Women's T20 Challenge games in India
26 Mar 2020
Perry ruled out for six months
The Australian all-rounder will undergo surgery after sustaining an injury on her hamstring
07 Mar 2020
India vs Australia, WT20 Final, Melbourne - Fantasy Preview
Here are a few tips that might help you in creating your fantasy team for the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 final between India and Australia
Hardik Worah
07 Mar 2020
Clutch Australia await India as history beckons
India might be on a winning streak, but you don't bet against a team who have won this tournament four times
Hardik Worah
07 Mar 2020
Australia star allrounder Perry out of T20 World Cup
So severe is the injury that she will also be unavailable for Australia's tour of South Africa later this month
03 Mar 2020
Australia edge New Zealand to make T20 World Cup semis
Earlier, Sri Lanka ended their tournament on a high with a crushing victory over Bangladesh
02 Mar 2020
Poonam spins Australia out to give India stunning win
Defending 132, the legspinner took four wickets as Australia were bowled out for 115
Hardik Worah
21 Feb 2020
Australia vs India, Womens T20 World Cup 2020: Fantasy Preview
Here are a few tips that might help you in creating your fantasy team for the first match of the Women's T20 World Cup 2020 between Australia and India, in Sydney Staff
20 Feb 2020
India begin T20 World Cup quest against favourites Australia
India have played 18 T20Is against Australia, winning five and losing 13
Hardik Worah
20 Feb 2020
Cricket like never before
Term of use
Privacy Policy
Cookies Policy
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved