Power Surge, X-Factor, Bash Boost: New rules revealed for BBL

back icon
16 Nov 2020 | 04:00 AM
CA Media Release

Power Surge, X-Factor, Bash Boost: New rules revealed for BBL

These rules have been designed to encourage and reward positive, high-scoring cricket



In KFC BBL|10, the batting side will be given more control over its innings with the addition of the Power Surge. The power play has been shortened to four overs, fixed to the start of the innings. An additional two over “Power Surge” can be taken by the batting team any time  from the 11th over onwards.

Teams will also have the ability to change strategy at the 10 over mark of the first innings and substitute in an X-Factor player. This player, named as either the 12th or 13th player on the team sheet, can replace any player who is yet to bat or bowled no more than one over.

Endeavour and enterprise will be rewarded in the second innings with the introduction of the Bash Boost. Four competitions points will be up for grabs per match – three points for the overall win and one Bash Boost point, awarded half way through the second innings. The team chasing will receive the Bash Boost if they’re above the equivalent 10-over score of their opposition. If they’re trailing, the fielding side will receive the point.

The evolution of the KFC BBL Playing Conditions follows a raft of star player signings across the league and the introduction of a third overseas player in a club’s playing XI.

The world’s top ranked batter, bowler and all-rounder on the ICC T20I rankings have signed for KFC BBL clubs in Dawid Malan, Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi. In addition, the likes of Mitchell Starc, Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow, Nicholas Pooran, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir will also feature prominently in KFC BBL|10.

A full schedule has been released for the upcoming season, with venues for the 21 matches to be played in December confirmed. The season will begin in Tasmania and ACT with the first match on December 10, with matches moving to Queensland and South Australia later in the month.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s Head of Big Bash Leagues, said:

“The introduction of these innovations is yet another reason why the KFC BBL|10 season is set up to be the most exciting in the League’s history.

“The Power Surge, X-Factor and Bash Boost prioritise scoring, exciting cricket, introduce new strategic angles and ensure there’s always something to play for throughout the entire match.

“We’re confident our fans will love what these innovations bring to the game as many of the world’s top T20 players, plus our next generation of Australian stars, bring them to life on field.”

Trent Woodhill, the KFC Big Bash League’s player acquisition and cricket consultant, said:

“The best T20 leagues across the globe are the ones that continue to innovate, push the boundaries and challenge the status quo. The introduction of these new Playing Conditions firmly puts the KFC Big Bash League in that category.

“There’s now more emphasis on the role of the coach, more for our fans to look forward to and more for our broadcasters to speak to during each KFC BBL game.

“Despite the challenges of this winter, we’ve got more star overseas players coming to the KFC BBL than ever before and now an ambitious set of innovations to shake up the League. I can’t wait to see our players and coaches embrace these new concepts.”

shareGray Share
Big Bash League, 2020/21Cricket AustraliaAlistair DobsonTrent Woodhill

Related Articles

Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers, BBL 2020/21, Final: Fantasy Preview
Here are a few tips and suggestions that might help you in creating your fantasy team for the final of BBL 2020/21 between Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers at the Sydney Cricket Ground
userCricket.Com Staff
05 Feb 2021
All you need to know about Big Bash League 2020-21
The 10th edition of the Australian T20 league will kick start from Thursday (December 10)
userCricket.com Staff
09 Dec 2020
New rules in focus as Hurricanes, Sixers set to face off in BBL opener
The 10th edition of the BBL begins with a clash between Hobart Hurricanes and defending champions Sydney Sixers
userNitin Fernandes
09 Dec 2020
CA announce full BBL schedule with Perth, Melbourne awarded fixtures
Five matches will be played at Optus Stadium in Perth, while Melbourne will host 11 games
userCricket Australia Media Release
23 Nov 2020
Watson lashes out at CA for introducing new rules in BBL
The country's cricket board has decided to introduce three new rules -- Power Surge, X Factor Player and the Bash Boost -- in the 10th edition of the BBL
18 Nov 2020
Bairstow set for BBL debut as he signs for Melbourne Stars
The 10th edition of Australia's Twenty20 tournament begins on December 10, although the 31-year-old will not be available until after Christmas
10 Nov 2020
Big Bash League delayed, more venues to be used
The 10th season of the eight-franchise Twenty20 tournament was initially due to begin on December 3, but it will now start seven days later
05 Nov 2020
BBL to feature three overseas cricketers in playing XI
The move follows this week’s news that the ICC’s number one ranked T20I batter, bowler and all-rounder have all signed for BBL clubs
userCA Media Release
23 Oct 2020
World's top-ranked T20 trio sign up for Big Bash
Rashid Khan, the world's number one T20 bowler, will be back for Adelaide Strikers
22 Oct 2020
Women's Big Bash League moved to Sydney over coronavirus
The eight-team tournament was originally set to start on October 17, with 59 games across six cities
04 Sep 2020
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 cricket.com | All rights reserved