back icon
18 Nov 2020 | 08:39 AM Staff
Qualification process for 2022 Commonwealth Games announced
England have qualified automatically as the hosts, while the other top six ranked in the T20I Women’s rankings as of April 1, 2021 also qualify directly for the eight-team tournament

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) and the International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced the qualification process for cricket, for the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, which is scheduled from 28 July to 8 August. It will be the Women’s team which will participate in the games this time for the first-ever time. Cricket as a whole will be making its first appearance in the Commonwealth Games since 1998 in Kuala Lumpur.

England have qualified automatically as the hosts, while the other top six ranked in the T20I Women’s rankings as of April 1, 2021 also qualify directly for the eight-team tournament, scheduled to be played in Edgbaston.

The remaining one spot will be awarded to the team winning the Commonwealth Qualifier, the format of which will be announced soon. But the deadline for the qualifier is January 31, 2022. 

ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney, said, "Cricket at the Commonwealth Games is a fantastic opportunity for us to continue to grow the women’s game globally. We are committed to accelerating this growth and maintaining the momentum we have created over the past few years, which most recently saw 86,174 fans packed into the MCG for the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.”

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur has feels that participating in the tournament will be a different challenge. "The inclusion of cricket at the Commonwealth Games is huge for all players and the game in general.

"Representing your country in a multi-discipline event is a different challenge and with it comes the responsibility of being emissaries of the game since it can get us new followers and fans.

"I hope to be there at the games and wish that it is a great success with some engrossing matches and high quality of cricket."

(Inputs from ICC Media Release)

Related Articles
South Africa edition of Women's T20 World Cup postponed
The mega event has been scheduled to February 2023 from November 22 to avoid a cluster a big-ticket events in 2022
20 Nov 2020
ICC Board Meeting: India retains right to host 2021 World T20, Australia get 2022
The global body also confirmed that next year's women's ODI World Cup in New Zealand has been postponed until February-March 2022 because of the impact the pandemic has had on cricket globally
07 Aug 2020
CSA and CWI postpone Women's ODI and men's A team series'
Both series were scheduled to be held in the Caribbean
Cricket South Africa Media Release
13 May 2020
ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier postponed
The World Cup Qualifier was due to take place in Sri Lanka between 3 and 19 July, where three teams were to qualify for the 2021 event in New Zealand
ICC media release
12 May 2020
ICC launches campaign to promote women's cricket
The campaign was launched on the occasion of the International Women's Day ahead of the T20 World Cup final at the MCG
08 Mar 2020
Australia presented with ICC Women's Championship trophy
Australia, England and South Africa have confirmed qualification for next year's World Cup
08 Feb 2020
Christchurch to host 2021 Women's World Cup final
The 50-over tournament which will run from February 6 to March 7 will be played across six cities
23 Jan 2020
Women’s T20 cricket to be included in the 2022 CWG
All eight international teams will play their matches at Edgabston in Birmingham
ICC Media Release
13 Aug 2019
Inclusion of women's cricket in CWG is brilliant news: Knight
Women’s cricket is set to be part of the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games
21 Jun 2019
ICC and ECB welcome Commonwealth Games nomination
The inclusion of women’s cricket for Birmingham 2022 is part of the global ambition for cricket to inspire and empower women
ICC Media Release
20 Jun 2019
Cricket like never before
Term of use
Privacy Policy
Cookies Policy
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved