Rohit, Ashwin among four Indians included in Cricket Australia XI of 2021

back icon
31 Dec 2021 | 12:12 PM

Rohit, Ashwin among four Indians included in Cricket Australia XI of 2021

Cricket Australia announced the best XI from 2021

India's white-ball skipper Rohit Sharma and premier off-spinner R Ashwin were among four players from the country to have featured in the Cricket Australia (CA) XI of the year.

Besides Rohit and Ashwin, the other two Indians in the team were swashbuckling keeper-batter Rishabh Pant and left-arm spinner Axar Patel. Rohit has been picked as an opener alongside Sri Lankan Dimuth Karunaratne, followed by Australian batter Marnus Labuschagne at number three.

He is followed by England Test captain Joe Root, Pakistan's Fawad Alam and Pant in the batting order. Having dominated white-ball cricket and his home conditions for years, Rohit conquered his final frontier this year by showing he can score big Test runs outside of Asia.

And a strong 2021 that saw him finish behind only Root for most runs could have been even better if the classy right-hander had translated multiple strong starts into big hundreds.

Rohit reached 20 or more in 14 of his 19 completed innings but posted two centuries 161 in a total of 329 to set up a win in Chennai and a patient 127 at The Oval, his maiden Test hundred away from home.

Pant was named as the wicketkeeper. His numbers would look considerably better if he'd been able to turn scores of 97 (in Sydney), 89 not out (in Brisbane) and 91 (in Chennai) into hundreds.

The way he dismantled Australia and England at the start of the year earned him comparisons with the great Adam Gilchrist, CA wrote.

The spin department features the Indian duo of Ashwin and Axar.

While Ashwin was also the highest wicket-taker in Tests this year, Axar has cemented his spot in the team at home with a spectacular show against England. While Ashwin claimed 54 wickets in 9 matches this year, Axar ended up with 27 in 5.

Labuschagne was the lone player from the Australian national side who was included in the list.

Cricket Australia Test XI of 2021: Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root, Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Axar Patel, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

shareGray Share
IndiaRohit SharmaRavichandran Ashwin

Related Articles

Test Team of the Year, 2021
Here is an XI acknowledging the best performers in Test cricket this year
userShubh Aggarwal
31 Dec 2021
It's about the memories you make: Ashwin on surpassing Harbhajan's Test tally
Ravichandran Ashwin went past Harbhajan Singh's Test wicket tally of 417 on Monday staff
29 Nov 2021
Lights, camera, action: let the Ashwin-Axar-Jadeja era begin
Should things go as envisioned, Thursday might prove to be the beginning of a special partnership
userAnirudh Suresh
24 Nov 2021
Would never have somebody like Ashwin in my T20 team: Manjrekar
The offspinner, who is part of the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup, picked up only seven wickets in 13 encounters in IPL 2021 staff
15 Oct 2021
Mumbai’s fate is no more in their own hands
Following their defeat to Delhi, the five-time champions will now also have to rely on other results to qualify for the playoffs
userHardik Worah
02 Oct 2021
WTC 2019-21: Team of the Tournament
Players from New Zealand, India and Australia dominate's best XI of the competition
userHardik Worah
24 Jun 2021
Most readers align with India's Playing XI
Before India announced their Playing XI, our readers sent their preferred XIs for the WTC Final staff
17 Jun 2021
When did the boy in the bubble become a man?
How Rishabh Pant outgrew his former self to become cricketing gentry
userGaurav Sethi
26 Apr 2021
DC's Rahane, Ishant, Umesh undergo first training session ahead of IPL 2021
A few other key players assembled at the team hotel and will be in quarantine for one week
30 Mar 2021
Day Three: Crumbled under the spell of spin, England hand India an innings win
With a 3-1 series victory, India qualify for the final of the inaugural World Test Championship
userSomesh Agarwal
06 Mar 2021
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved