Russell's blitz hands Gladiators Abu Dhabi T10 League

back icon
05 Dec 2021 | 04:11 AM staff

Russell's blitz hands Gladiators Abu Dhabi T10 League

Andre Russell smashed an unbeaten 90 off just 32 balls as Deccan Gladiators beat Delhi Bulls by 56 runs

Andre Russell smashed a brutal 90 not out off just 32 balls and added a record 159 for the opening partnership with Tom Kohler-Cadmore as Deccan Gladiators clinched their first-ever Abu Dhabi T10 title by beating Delhi Bulls by 56 runs on Saturday. 

Russell, who was promoted to the opener in the final, clubbed 9 fours and 7 sixes and was ably supported by Tom Kohler-Cadmore, who smashed 59 runs from 28 balls as the pair recorded the highest partnership in the history of the competition. Russell first took on Dominic Drakes, smacking him for two sixes in the third over and then he struck two boundaries and a six off Dwayne Bravo's bowling in the fifth over. 

The allrounder also smashed Romario Shepherd for two boundaries and a six in the eighth over. Kohler-Cadmore also upped the ante in the last over, hitting a six and a four off Bravo's bowling, helping the Gladiators post an imposing total.

Chandrapaul Hemraj tried to get things going for the Bulls, as he smacked Russell for two boundaries and a six in the fifth over, however, he kept losing partners at the other end. Hemraj scored 42 runs off 20 balls, but his stay at the crease ended when he was dismissed by Wanindu Hasaranga in the sixth over. Post Hemraj's departure, the Gladiators kept putting pressure on their opponents and eventually walked off the field as champions. Odean Smith, Wanindu Hasaranga and Tymal Mills picked up 2 wickets each in the match.

Brief scores: Deccan Gladiators 159/0 (Andre Russell 90*, Tom Kohler-Cadmore 59*, Fazalhaq Farooqi 0-25) beat Delhi Bulls 103/7 (Chandrapaul Hemraj 42, Adil Rashid 15*, Wanindu Hasaranga 2-20) by 56 runs.

shareGray Share
Deccan Gladiators vs Delhi BullsAbu Dhabi T10 League, 2021Deccan Gladiators

Related Articles

No Articles found
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved