back icon


Schedule for CPL 2023 announced

Last updated on 18 Apr 2023 | 08:18 AM
Follow Us
Schedule for CPL 2023 announced

The 11th edition kicks off on August 16, while the final will be played on September 24.

The Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St. Lucia will host the first game of Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2023, between Saint Lucia Kings and Jamaica Tallawahs. The tournament will be played in a caravan format, with Barbados set to host their first CPL game in three years. 

The official Twitter handle of CPL confirmed that the league stage will be played across five venues. St. Lucia, St. Kitts, Barbados, Trinidad, and Guyana will each host six games, and Guyana will also play host to the playoffs. 

The playoffs format is the same as that followed in the Indian Premier League; an eliminator between the third & fourth placed teams and qualifier 1 between the first and second placed teams. The winner of the eliminator and the loser of the qualifier then play qualifier 2, the winner of which then plays the winner of qualifier 1 in the finals.

The 11th edition will commence just three days after the India vs West Indies series, consisting of two Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is. By hosting the CPL in August and September, the organisers have also avoided a possible clash with the inaugural edition of Major League Cricket, that is set to be played from the 13th to 30th July, 2023.

Rovman Powell led Jamaica Tallawahs are the defending champions, having defeated the Barbados Royals in last season's finals. 

Related Article