Smith wins third Allan Border Medal, Mooney bags maiden Belinda Clarke Award

back icon
06 Feb 2021 | 03:16 PM

Smith wins third Allan Border Medal, Mooney bags maiden Belinda Clarke Award

Smith pipped Pat Cummins and Aaron Finch to win the top honour for male cricketers in Australia



Former captain Steve Smith claimed his third Allan Border Medal while Beth Mooney bagged her maiden Belinda Clarke Award, the top two honours of the Australian Cricket Awards.

Smith was honoured for his performances in all three formats of the game, while Mooney bagged the recognition in the Australian women's game for the first time.

The awards were decided by a voting process for the period 2020-21.

Smith was surprised to receive the honour, insisting that he felt his poor outing in the Test series against India had ruined his chances of winning the award.

"It's a great thrill, plenty of hard work has gone into it (but) I didn't expect it; I thought Marnus (Labuschagne) or Pat Cummins were the front runners because they both had exceptional years," he said.

"I didn't feel I had the biggest Test summer, which normally holds the most votes. I think my one-day cricket was pretty good last summer.

"I'm just really honoured to have won my third AB Medal and hopefully I can keep producing results for Australia," he added.

It was a double celebration for Smith as he also won the men's ODI Player of the Year with 28 votes ahead of Finch (23) and leg-spinner Adam Zampa (19).

Smith amassed 568 runs at 63.11 with centuries in Bengaluru and twice at the SCG within three days, as well as a knock of 98 in Rajkot.

Ashton Agar bagged the men's T20 Player of the Year, beating fellow leg-spinner Zampa and Finch.

Flamboyant open David Warner won the Allan Border Medal last year, while all-rounder Ellyse Perry had claimed the Belinda Clark Award.

Smith scored 1,098 runs at an average of 45.75 across all three formats during the period 2020-21, which was severely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Smith hit four fifties and four centuries, with a top score of 131 in an ODI against India. With 126 votes in his kitty, the right-hander He edged out Pat Cummins (117 votes) and limited-overs skipper Aaron Finch (97).

Mooney, who polled 60 votes, edged out Meg Lanning (58) by just two votes to take the honour, with Georgia Wareham (50) finishing third.

Due to logistical challenges posed by the pandemic, this year's awards were not presented at the usual gala event but were announced on Friday during a televised show ahead of the KFC BBL10 Final.

The duo received their medals at home -- Mooney on the Gold Coast and Smith in Sydney.

Money is the ninth Australian woman cricketer to win the award since its introduction in 2002.

The 27-year-old left-hander batswoman also won the women's T20 Player of the Year award.

Cummins won the Test player of the year award with 16 votes ahead of Josh Hazlewood's and Marnus Labuschagne.

List of 2021 Australian Cricket Awards:

Belinda Clark Award: Beth Mooney. Votes: Beth Mooney 60, Meg Lanning 58, Georgia Wareham 50.
Allan Border Medal: Steve Smith. Votes: Steve Smith 126, Pat Cummins 114, Aaron Finch 97.
Men's Test Player of the Year: Pat Cummins. Votes: Pat Cummins 16, Josh Hazlewood 9, Marnus Labuschagne 8.
Women's One Day International Player of the Year: Rachel Haynes. Votes: Rachel Haynes 11, Meg Lanning 10, Georgia Wareham 6.
Male One Day International Player of the Year: Steve Smith. Votes: Steve Smith 28, Aaron Finch 23, Adam Zampa 19.
Female International Twenty20 Player of the Year: Beth Mooney. Votes: Beth Mooney 30, Alyssa Healy 18, Ash Gardner, Megan Schutt and Georgia Wareham 16.
Male International Twenty20 Player of the Year: Ashton Agar. Votes: Ashton Agar 19, Aaron Finch 14, David Warner 13.
Female Domestic Player of the Year: Elyse Villani.
Male Domestic Player of the Year: Shaun Marsh.
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Hannah Darlington.
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Will Sutherland.
Community Impact Award: Joshua Lalor.
Hall of Fame inductions: Johnny Mullagh, Merv Hughes, Lisa Sthalekar.

shareGray Share
Steven Peter Devereux SmithPatrick James CumminsAaron James FinchAustralia

Related Articles

Pant, Ashwin nominated for new ICC player of month awards
Other players named for the awards for January are Root, Smith, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Marizanne Kapp, Nadine de Klerk and Nida Dar
27 Jan 2021
De Kock and Wolvaardt honoured with CSA's top awards
The two were named SA Men’s and SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year in their respective categories
userCSA Media Release
05 Jul 2020
Khawaja axed; Labuschagne, Burns among six new faces to land CA contracts
Besides Khawaja, Handscomb, Stoinis, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Marcus Harris, and Shaun Marsh were also not included
30 Apr 2020
Beth Mooney signs up for 'The Hundred'
The Australian opener will link up with her skipper Meg Lanning at Welsh Fire
15 Mar 2020
Beth Mooney signs up for The Hundred
Mooney was a pivotal figure in Australia's charge to a fifth T20 crown, scoring an unbeaten 78 in Sunday's final against India in Melbourne
11 Mar 2020
Australia edge New Zealand to make T20 World Cup semis
Earlier, Sri Lanka ended their tournament on a high with a crushing victory over Bangladesh
02 Mar 2020
Warner, Smith braced for 'very hostile' South Africa crowds after ball-tampering scandal
Australia are touring South Africa for three T20Is and three ODIs which begins on February 21
14 Feb 2020
David Warner wins Allan Border Medal for third time
Ellyse Perry too won the Belinda Clark award for the third time
userCricket Australia media release
10 Feb 2020
Stokes wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy; Rohit named ICC ODI Player of the year
Virat Kohli has been named captain of the ICC Test and ODI team of the year
userICC Media Release
15 Jan 2020
Smith, Warner make T20 return against SL, PAK
Aaron Finch retains the skipper’s armband and Ashton Turner returns from injury
08 Oct 2019
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved