back icon


Stats: Chahal becomes IPL's leading wicket-taker before Jaiswal's fastest fifty

Last updated on 11 May 2023 | 08:24 PM
Google News IconFollow Us
Stats: Chahal becomes IPL's leading wicket-taker before Jaiswal's fastest fifty

Here are a few noteworthy stats from Match 56 between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals

It was a day of records for two Rajasthan players. Yuzvendra Chahal in the first innings and Yashasvi Jaiswal in the second. Here are a few statistical delights: 

Chahal at the summit of bowlers

With the wicket of Nitish Rana, Chahal went past Dwayne Bravo's tally of 183 wickets to become the leading wicket-taker in the IPL. He now has 187 wickets. 

In the IPL, Chahal has had the better of Rana six times in 13 innings. This is the joint-most dismissal for Chahal against a batter. Mayank Agarwal and Quinton de Kock have also been dismissed on six occasions against Chahal.

In this innings, he picked up another four-plus wicket haul, the joint-second-most in the IPL. Only Sunil Narine has more than him (8). 

This was the third four-plus wicket haul this season for the leg spinner, the joint-most alongside Andrew Tye in 2018 for a bowler in a season of IPL. 

In the IPL, Chahal is the fifth bowler to bag consecutive four-fors. Shadab Jakati in 2009, Munaf Patel in 2012, Andrew Tye in 2018, and Kagiso Rabada in 2022 are the other four. 

Jaiswal is smashing records for fun

In this innings, Jaiswal became the second batter in the IPL to start the innings with two sixes. Virat Kohli, against Rajasthan in 2019, began with two sixes. 

In the first over, apart from the fifth ball (double), Jaiswal hit a boundary on every other ball and smashed 26 runs in the first over, the most by a batter in an innings.

In his first ten balls, Jaiswal had scored 41 runs, a strike rate of 410. In the first ten balls of an IPL innings, it is the joint-highest alongside AB de Villiers in 2019.

He smashed a 13-ball half-century, the fastest in the IPL, beating KL Rahul and Pat Cummins's feat in 2018 and 2022. 

In all T20s, only three batters have had a quicker fifty. Yuvraj Singh against England in 2007, Chris Gayle against Adelaide Strikers in 2016, and Hazratullah Zazai against Balkh Legends in 2018, had hit a 12-ball fifty. 

In the first six overs, the left-handed dasher scored 62 runs, the third-highest by an Indian batter in this phase of an IPL innings. 

In this IPL, Jaiswal has faced 128 balls against spinners scoring 199 runs (155.5 SR) without a dismissal. In a season of IPL, these are the most runs scored by a batter without being dismissed. Kohli, in 2013, had scored 195 runs at a strike rate of 133.6. 

In this edition of the IPL, Jaiswal is one run behind Faf du Plessis with 575 runs in the orange cap list. 

In a season of IPL, only one uncapped player has scored more runs than Jaiswal. Shaun Marsh, in the inaugural season, scored 616 runs. 

Rajasthan chase with 41 balls to spare

The way Jaiswal started, it was evident that this chase would end within the 15th over. The only wicket Rajasthan lost was of Jos Buttler via a run out. 

Despite that early loss, Rajasthan strolled to a win as they chased 150 in just 13.1 overs. In the IPL, only one team has aced a chase of 150+ quicker. Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians in 2008 chased 155 in just 12 overs (Gilchrist 109*). 

In this match, Rajasthan reached the 50-run mark in just 2.4 overs, the quickest after Royal Challengers Bangalore (2.3) against Kochi Tuskers in 2011. 

Few other stats

-Earlier, Sanju Samson won the toss for the eighth consecutive game. Only one captain has won more in succession: David Warner from May 9, 2015, to April 23, 2016. MS Dhoni also had eight between May 5, 2018, to March 23, 2019. 

-In IPL 2023, this was the eighth innings in which Sunil Narine went without a wicket, the most for him in an IPL season. 

Related Article