safari staff
18 Oct 2022 | 03:31 PM

SMAT 2022 Round-up: Gaikwad's ton powers Maharashtra's win, Dhull's fuels Delhi's win

Yash Dhull continued his excellent form with a 36-ball 73 against Hyderabad as Delhi won by 46 runs

Tamil Nadu edge out Jharkhand

R. Sai Kishore claimed 3-6 while Washington Sundar scored 22 off 16 balls as defending champions Tamil Nadu edged out Jharkhand by 12 runs. Batting first, Tamil Nadu managed to put on 138 from 20 overs with B. Sai Sudarshan top scoring with 47 off 38 balls. Ishan Kishan scored a quickfire 24 off 18 balls while Jharkhand captain Virat Singh scored 52 off 38 balls. But all the other batters were out for single digit scores as they were restricted to 126/8.

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 138 all out (20 overs) beat Jharkhand 126/8 (20 overs).

In-form Shabaz helps Bengal beat Sikkim

Bengal crushed Sikkim by 84 runs as India allrounder Shahbaz Ahmed continued his good form with 43 off 33 balls and 1-22 from his three overs. Batting first, Bengal posted 179/6 in 20 overs after Sudip Gharami scored 56 off 43 balls while wicketkeeper Agniv Pan added 34 not out off 12 balls. All Bengal bowlers were among wickets as Sikkim crumbled to 95/8.

Brief scores: Bengal 179/6 (20 overs) beat Sikkim 95/8 (20 overs)

Jaiswal, Shaw, Sarfaraz shine as Mumbai’s unbeaten run continues

Leg-spinner duo Ravi Bishnoi (2-29) and Rahul Chahar (2-18) were the only notable performances for Rajasthan as they lost by 20 runs to marauding Mumbai who made five win in a row. Shreyas Iyer, who joined the squad on Sunday, was out for three runs, but Prithvi Shaw (32 off 17 balls), Yashasvi Jaiswal (46 off 27 balls) and Sarafaraz Khan (37 off 36 balls) propelled Mumbai to 159/6 in 20 overs. Mahipal Lomror (46 off 33 balls) and Salman Khan (35 off 20 balls) were the only bright spots as Rajasthan were restricted to 139/7 in 20 overs.

Brief scores: Mumbai 159/6 (20 overs) beat Rajasthan 139/7 (20 overs) by 20 overs.

Dhull’s superb run continues as Delhi beat Hyderabad

Yash Dhull continued his prolific run in the domestic circuit as the youngster’s 73 off 36 balls helped Delhi beat Hyderabad by 46 runs. Defending 197, Navdeep Saini claimed 4-17 to derail Hyderabad who were all out for 150. Rahul Buddhi was the top scorer for Hyderabad with 47 off 35 balls.

Brief scores: Delhi 196/6 (20 overs) beat Hyderabad 150 all out (19.2 overs) by 46 runs.

Gaikwad’s ton powers Maharashtra’s big win

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored his second hundred (114 off 68 balls) in five games as Maharashtra thumped Kerala by 40 runs in Chandigarh. Gaikwad scored lionshare of Maharashtra’s total of 167/4 in 20 overs as Satyajeet Bachhav (3-11) and Azim Kazi (2-25) restricted Kerala to 127/8. Rohan Kunnummal was the only bright spot for Kerala with a 44-ball 58.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 167/4 (20 overs) beat Kerala 127/8 (20 overs) by 40 runs

Karnataka crush Arunachal Pradesh by 10 wickets.

Captain Mayank Agarwal (47 not out off 21 balls) and Devdutt Padikkal (28 not out off 21 balls) knocked off a paltry target of 75 within 6.5 overs as Karnataka beat Arunachal Pradesh by 10 wickets. Vidhwath Kaverappa (3-22) and V. Koushik (3-5) triggered the collapse as Arunachal had three batters in the double-digit scores.

Brief scores: Karnataka 76/0 (6.5 overs) beat Arunachal Pradesh 75 all out (19.2 overs) by 10 wickets.

Bana, Tewatia help Haryana beat J&K

Rahul Tewatia remained not out on 29 off 17 balls while U-19 World Cup winner Dinesh Bana scored 43 off 41 balls as Haryana beat Jammu and Kashmir by four wickets in Chandigarh. Chasing 135, Haryana were reeling at 61/5 before Bana, alongside Tewatia and Sumit Kumar (33 not out off 13 balls) guided them to victory in 19.4 overs. Umran Malik claimed 1-26 in his four overs for J&K

Brief scores: Haryana 138/6 (19.4 overs) beat Jammu and Kashmir 134/6 (20 overs) by four wickets.

Markande stars in Punjab’s big win

Leg-spinner Mayank Markande claimed four wickets for four runs as Punjab dispatched Manipur for just 40 runs and chased down the target in 5.3 overs with nine wickets in hand. Shubman Gill’s return to the domestic outfit didn’t go well as he departed for seven runs. Abhishek Sharma (28 not out off 18 balls) and Ramandeep Singh (7 not out) finished the match in quick time.

Brief scores: Punjab 43/1 (5.3 overs) beat Manipur 40 all out (14.1 overs) by nine wickets.

Other results: 

Vidarbha 157/6 (20 overs) beat Uttarakhand 155/8 (20 overs) by two runs.

Tripura 159/6 (20 overs) beat Puducherry 136/8 (20 overs) by 23 runs.

Services 151/5 (19 overs) beat Meghalaya 148/5 (20 overs) by five wickets.

Himachal Pradesh 157/8 (20 overs) beat Saurashtra 144/9 (20 overs) by 13 runs.

Madhya Pradesh 98/4 (12.1 overs) beat Mizoram 94/6 (20 overs) by six wickets.

Andhra 186/8 (19.4 overs) beat Bihar 181/2 (20 overs) by two wickets.

Gujarat 122/1 (9.5 overs) beat Nagaland 119/8 (20 overs) by nine wickets.

Chhattisgarh 156/2 (18.2 overs) beat 150/6 (20 overs) by eight wickets.

Goa 131/7 (20 overs) beat Uttar Pradesh 120/8 (20 overs) by 11 runs.

Railways 135/2 (18.5 overs) beat Assam (20 overs) by eight wickets.

Related Articles

No Articles found