SMAT Round-up: Patidar powers MP's scrappy win, Dhull leads Delhi to big win

back icon
16 Oct 2022 | 05:19 PM
authorSamarnath Soory

SMAT Round-up: Patidar powers MP's scrappy win, Dhull leads Delhi to big win

Defending champions Tamil Nadu suffered their second defeat of the campaign as they lost to Bengal by 43 runs

Allround Shahbaz helps Bengal trounce TN

Shahbaz Ahmed scored an unbeaten 42 off 27 balls and claimed 3-13 as Bengal handed defending champions Tamil Nadu their second defeat of the season at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow. Batting first, Bengal’s innings was anchored by captain Abhimanyu Easwaran (38 off 36 balls), Sudip Gharami (27 off 14 balls) and Ritwik Choudhary (32 off 29 balls) before Shahbaz’s blitz took them to 164/6 in 20 overs. Captain Baba Aparajith and Sai Sudarshan (64 off 48 balls) were the only batters to have double-digit scores as they were restricted to 121/9. Tamil Nadu’s title defence was off to a rocky start as they lost their opening match to Chhattisgarh.

Brief scores: Bengal 164/6 (20 overs) beat Tamil Nadu 121/9 by 43 runs.

Dhull’s unbeaten 71 guides Delhi to win over Puducherry

Yash Dhull continued his good form in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy with an unbeaten 71 against Puducherry as Delhi won by seven wickets. Batting first, Puducherry scored 168/8 in 20 overs after P. Sivaraman’s 43 was supported by Mohit Mittan’s run-a-ball 33 and Vikneshwaran Marimuthu’s 39 not out off 21 balls. Pacer Navdeep Saini picked up 3-37 while Delhi captain Nitish Rana claimed 2-18 and also added 36 off 26 balls in the chase.

Brief scores: Delhi 169/3 (19.2 overs) beat Puducherry 168/8 (20 overs) by seven wickets.

Dube, Mulani shine as Mumbai’s unbeaten run continues

Shivam Dube top scored with 41 off 40 balls and claimed 2-20 from his three overs against Vidarbha to help Mumbai to their fourth consecutive win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022. After setting Vidarbha a target of 156, left-arm spinner Shams Mulani was the wrecker-in-chief with 3-21 as Mumbai won by 15 runs.

Brief scores: Mumbai 155/8 (20 overs) beat Vidarbha 140/6 (20 overs) by 15 runs.

Patidar’s fiery 92 guides MP to win over Railways

Rajat Patidar smashed an unbeaten 92 off 43 ball involving nine sixes and two boundaries as Ranji champions Madhya Pradesh beat Railways by 14 runs. Batting first MP raced away to 190/5 thanks to Patidar’s blitz, but Railways had a strong response opener Pratham Singh (55 off 39 balls) laid the foundation for the chase. Medium pacer Ashwin Das bowled a superb final over as Railways lost three wickets to finish at 176/9.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 190/5 (20 overs) beat Railways 176/9 (20 overs) by 14 runs.

Kaverappa takes five as Karnataka trounce J&K

Pacer Vidhwath Kaverappa claimed a sensational 5-11 as Karnataka beat Jammu and Kashmir by 34 runs in Chandigarh. Batting first, Karnataka were dug out of trouble at 59/5 by Shreyas Gopal (48 not out off 38 balls) and Manoj Bhandage (41 off 23 balls) who added 68 runs to take them to 147/7 in 20 overs. Except Vivrant Sharma’s 46-ball 63 J&K lost three wickets with five runs on the board as they went from 5/4 to 98/8 and were all out for 113. Umran Malik managed 1-37 from his four overs while Mayank Agarwal and Manish Pandey were out for single-digit scores.

Brief scores: Karnataka 147/7 (20 overs) beat Jammu and Kashmir 113/10 (18.2 overs) by 34 runs.

Other Results:

Services 148/8 (20 overs) beat Kerala 136 all out (19.4 overs) by 12 runs.

Hyderabad 162/5 (20 overs) beat Tripura 158/8 (20 overs) by 5 wickets.

Odisha 181/9 (20 overs) beat Chandigarh 179/6 (20 overs) by 1 wicket.

Baroda 156/5 (20 overs) beat Bihar 120/8 (20 overs) by 36 runs.

Saurashtra 164/7 (19 overs) beat Gujarat 162/7 (20 overs) by 3 wickets.

Uttarakhand 147/6 (20 overs) beat Rajasthan 143/6 (20 overs) by 4 wickets.

Maharashtra 144 all out (20 overs) beat Meghalaya 70 all out (18.1 overs) by 74 runs.

Uttar Pradesh 138/0 (12.4 overs) beat Manipur 137/4 (20 overs) by 10 wickets.

Punjab 142/1 (15.4 overs) beat Goa 138/7 (20 overs) by 9 wickets.

Chhattisgarh 53/1 (6.1 overs) beat Sikkim 52 all out (14.5 overs) by 9 wickets.

Andhra 173/5 (19 overs) beat 169/4 (20 overs) by 5 wickets.

Haryana 190/6 (20 overs) beat Arunachal Pradesh 86/8 (20 overs) by 104 runs.

Assam 118/3 (16.3 overs) beat Mizoram 115/9 (20 overs) by 7 wickets.

shareGray Share
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, 2022DelhiTamil NaduKarnatakaMadhya PradeshRajat PatidarYash Dhull

Related Articles

No Articles found
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved