safari staff
11 Oct 2022 | 05:25 PM

SMAT Round-up: Shaw, Padikkal shine; TN begin title defence with loss

Defending champions Tamil Nadu suffered a six-run loss in their tournament opener against Chhattisgarh

Tamil Nadu’s title defence off to a losing start

Pacer Ravi Kiran’s 3-26 and offspinner Sahban Khan’s 2-21 restricted Tamil Nadu to 126/9 as Chhattisgarh handed the defending champions a six-run opening defeat at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow. Batting first, Chhattisgarh were anchored by captain Harpreet Singh’s 49 as TN spinner Varun Chakravarthy claimed 2-12 with help from other bowlers. TN’s top order managed to take them to 98/5 but the last four wickets fell for one run.

Brief Scores: Chhattisgarh 132/5 (20) beat Tamil Nadu 126/9 (20) by 6 runs.

Tilak Varma’s fifty in vain as Punjab beat Hyderabad

Mumbai Indians’ teenage lefthander Tilak Varma was the lone bright spot with 50 off 38 balls in Hyderabad’s 59-run loss to Punjab at the Sawai Mansigh Stadium in Jaipur. Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Abhishek Sharma claimed 3-22 while Baltej Singh took 3-22 as Hyderabad were dismissed for 115 while chasing 174.

Brief Scores: Punjab 174/4 (20) beat Hyderabad 115/10 (18.1) by 59 runs

Padikkal’s dazzling ton sinks Maharashtra

Opening batter Devdutt Padikkal’s stunning 124 not out off 62 was aided by Manish Pandey’s unbeaten 50 off 38 balls as last year’s finalists Karnataka thumped Maharashtra by 99 runs at Mohali in the Group C encounter. Chasing a massive 216, Maharashtra were lost wickets in a heap to be dismissed for 116.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 215/2 (20) beat Maharashtra 116/10 (20) by 99 runs

Prithvi Shaw shines as Mumbai breeze past Mizoram

After the bowlers restricted Mizoram to a measly 98, Prithvi Shaw (55* off 34) and Aman Hakim Khan (39* off 22) helped Mumbai register a thumping nine-wicket win in their first match of SMAT 2022. Notably, there was a failure for Ajinkya Rahane, who perished for a 7-ball 9.

Brief scores: Mumbai 103/1 (10.3) beat Mizoram 98/8 (20.0) by 9 wickets

Ishant Sharma makes successful comeback as Delhi thrash Manipur

Playing his first professional match since March, veteran Ishant Sharma made a fine comeback (1/17 off 3 overs) as Delhi thrashed Manipur by 71 runs. Alongside Ishant, Navdeep Saini (0/15 off 3) and Mumbai Indians’ Hrithik Shokeen (2/13 off 3 overs) enjoyed good outings for Delhi. On the batting front, however,  Yash Dhull (24 off 23 balls) and Nitish Rana (7 off 12 balls) struggled, while Ayush Badoni (20 off 15 balls) and Lalit Yadav (19 off 15 balls) did moderately well.

Brief scores: Delhi 167/7 (20.0) beat Manipur 96/7 (20.0) by 71 runs

Uttarakhand overcome Railways in opener

A fine four-fer from skipper Akash Madhwal (4/25) set-up the game before an unbeaten 77* (55) from Jiwanjot Singh sealed the deal for Uttarakhand. Veteran Aditya Tare (20 off 16) did not fire on his Uttarakhand debut, but Tuesday’s clash was a good outing for young wicket-keeper Upendra Yadav, who struck a valiant 67 batting at No.4.

Brief scores: Uttarakhand 154/3 (19.3) beat Railways 150/6 (20.0) by 7 wickets

Ruthless Kerala demolish Arunachal Pradesh

In a rain-shortened game that proved to be a one-sided affair, Kerala needed just 29 balls to knock off the 54 set by Arunachal Pradesh. Vishnu Vinod (23* off 16) and Rohan Kunnummal (32* off 13) brought out the fireworks with the bat for Kerala after the bowlers collectively did a wonderful job.

Brief scores: Kerala 55/0 (4.5) beat Arunachal Pradesh 53/6 (11.0) by 10 wickets

Rayudu, Krunal and Varun Aaron feature in Baroda’s victory over Nagaland

Ambati Rayudu captained Baroda in his return to the state side and it was a rather straightforward victory for the 2021 finalists. Rayudu, the skipper, had little to do in the contest (10* off 8 balls). Speedster Varun Aaron had a good outing on debut (0/19 off 3 overs) while Krunal Pandya (0/11 off 4 overs) was outstanding with the ball in hand. Krunal, however, batting at No.3, fell for just 8 runs.

Brief scores: Baroda 91/3 (14.0) beat Nagaland 90/7 (20.0) by seven wickets

Wriddhiman Saha fails on Tripura debut; Arjun Tendulkar does well for Goa

Wriddhiman Saha skippered Tripura in his first game for the state-side but the debut turned out to be an unmemorable one for the veteran, who registered 5 off 8 balls opening the batting. Lack of solid contributions meant Tripura posted just 114, and the measly total was chased rather convincingly by Goa. Arjun Tendulkar, on debut, finished with figures of 0/20 off his 3. But though Goa won, both Siddesh Lad (7 off 14 balls) and Suyash Prabhudessai (6 off 14 balls) had forgettable games with the bat.

Brief scores: Goa 118/5 (18.1) beat Tripura 114/8 (20.0) by 5 wickets

Other results

Odisha 101/1 (15.2) beat Sikkim 100/6 (20.0) by 9 wickets

Meghalaya 85/2 (7.3) beat Jammu and Kashmir 81/3 (9.0) by 8 wickets (rain-shortened)

Uttarakhand 154/3 (19.3) beat Railways 150/6 (20) by 7 wickets.

Madhya Pradesh 173/5 (20) beat Rajasthan 135/10 (19.2) by 38 runs.

Uttar Pradesh 88/0 beat Puducherry 94 (18.4) by 10 wickets. (Target revised to 83 runs by VJD Method)

Vidarbha 162/4 (18.5) beat Assam 161/5 (20) by 6 wickets.

Bengal vs Jharkhand - Match abandoned due to wet outfield

Gujarat vs Himachal - Match abandoned due to wet outfield

Andhra vs Saurashtra - Match abandoned due to rain

Related Articles

No Articles found