Samarnath Soory
28 Sep 2022 | 06:43 AM

Umesh, Iyer and Shahbaz added to India squad for SA T20Is

Deepak Hooda has been ruled out due to a back injury while Mohammad Shami is yet to regain full fitness

Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer and Shahbaz Ahmed have been added to India’s squad for the T20I series against South Africa starting on Wednesday at Thirvananthapuram, the BCCI said in a release.

Allrounder Deepak Hooda has been ruled out of the three T20Is and three ODIs after sustaining a back injury. Hooda, alongside Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are at the NCA for further management.

Meanwhile, pacer Arshdeep Singh has linked up with the squad in Thiruvananthapuram.

Mohammad Shami, who has been named among the standbys for the T20 World Cup, is yet to fully recovery from COVID-19 and will not be a part of the three-match T20I series. 

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Umesh Yadav as Shami’s replacement and Shreyas Iyer as a replacement for Hooda. Shahbaz Ahmed has also been added to the T20I squad," an official release said.

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed.

Related Articles

No Articles found