Aakash Sivasubramaniam
06 Sep 2022 | 06:23 PM

Van der Merwe returns to Netherland’s T20WC squad

Scott Edwards will lead the team for the global event in Australia

Scott Edwards will lead a well-replenished for the upcoming T20 World Cup Down Under, with the return of former South African all-rounder, Roelof van der Merwe in the 15-man squad. Alongside that, the squad also sees a place for Colin Ackermann, Timm van der Gugten, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen and Paul van Meekeren. 

"We have assembled a well balanced squad with an exciting blend of youth and experience for the upcoming T20 World Cup," head coach Ryan Cook said. "The experience playing in the Super League will stand the team in good stead and good confidence can be taken from these performances.

"We will look to continue the progression that was evident through the summer into the tournament and have some quality preparation planned prior to the event which will help the readiness for the group in both skills and cohesion."

The Dutch have been placed alongside Namibia, Sri Lanka and the UAE, in the Group A. Two from the group will qualify for the next stage of the competition. 

Squad: Scott Edwards (c, wk), Colin Ackermann, Shariz Ahmad, Logan van Beek, Tom Cooper, Brandon Glover, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen, Bas de Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephan Myburgh, Teja Nidamanuru, Max O'Dowd, Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh

Related Articles

No Articles found