back icon


West Indies leave out Shimron Hetmyer for Australia ODIs and T20Is

Last updated on 11 Jan 2024 | 04:00 AM
Follow Us
West Indies leave out Shimron Hetmyer for Australia ODIs and T20Is

Brandon King and Sherfane Rutherford have been allowed to skip the ODI series but will return for the T20Is

Shimron Hetmyer isn’t part of the West Indies’ T20I and ODI squads for the tour of Australia, while Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers have been named in the T20I set-up after they made themselves unavailable for the Test series to play franchise cricket.

Brandon King and Sherfane Rutherford have also been allowed to skip the three-match ODI series but will return for the three T20Is. 

Grenadian top-order batter Teddy Bishop and Guyanese wicketkeeper-batter Tevin Imlach have been included in the Shai Hope-led ODI side, while Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge and Hayden Walsh Jr have also been recalled.

Hetmyer had a terrible 2023, scoring only 68 runs in six ODIs at an average of 11.33. In the 20-over format, the left-hander managed 105 runs in seven games @ 17.5 and a strike rate of 116.7.

"On the back of a series win against England, we are expecting our ODI team to be very competitive in Australia," said lead selector Desmond Haynes.

"We have some new inclusions, who have impressed over a significant period and a couple of returning players, who we think will have an impact.

"For the T20I series, this forms part of our crucial preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup where we are hosts. We are hoping to build on strong overall performances against India and England and to keep improving as we approach the major tournament."

The Men in Maroon are first scheduled to play a couple of Tests between January 17 to 29. The ODI series will get under in Melbourne from February 2. Meanwhile, the three T20Is will be played in Hobart (February 9), Adelaide (February 11) and Perth (February 13).

ODI squad - Shai Hope (c), Alzarri Joseph, Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, Tevin Imlach, Gudakesh Motie, Kjorn Ottley, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20I squad - Rovman Powell (capt), Shai Hope, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas.

Related Article