back icon


Warner, Marsh rested while Hazlewood returns for Sri Lanka T20Is

Last updated on 25 Jan 2022 | 04:02 AM
Follow Us
Warner, Marsh rested while Hazlewood returns for Sri Lanka T20Is

Head coach Justin Langer too will miss the series with Andrew McDonald filling his shoes for the five-match series

As expected, fast bowler Josh Hazlewood returns to the Australia squad for the five-match T20 International (T20I) series against Sri Lanka after a side strain ruled him out of four Ashes Tests. 

However, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, two integral members of the T20 World Cup-winning squad have been overlooked in a bid to give them time to prepare for the Pakistan tour, which commences right after the T20I series. Also, head coach Justin Langer has taken a leave of absence for this series and it will be Andrew McDonald filling in his shoes on a temporary basis.

Ben McDermott, who scored back-to-back centuries in the Big Bash League (BBL) recently, also finds his name in the squad. He is the leading run-scorer in the tournament this season with 577 runs at a strike-rate of 153.86.

Along with Moises Henriques, McDermott too was part of the twin tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh last year. Fast bowler Jhye Richardson and player of the Ashes series Travis Head have also been recalled.

Daniel Sams, Nathan Ellis (Injury) and Dan Christian, who were the reserves for the T20 World Cup, have been left out. However, uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Josh Inglis, who strikes at over 150 in T20s, hangs on to his place and will perhaps act as a cover for Matthew Wade.

"This squad will begin preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup defence at home later this year and includes several players who have an early chance to impress in these five matches against a quality opposition," George Bailey, the chairman of the selection committee, said.

Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne are scheduled to host the T20Is, which are set to get underway from February 11.

Australia squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Related Article