back icon
19 Oct 2020 | 08:51 PM
Du Plessis, Malinga, Afridi to play in Lanka Premier League
Two Indian players, former KKR batsman Manvinder Bisla and CSK pacer MS Gony have also been picked from the draft

Former international captains Angelo Mathews, Faf du Plessis and Jamaican all-rounder Andre Russell are some of the marquee names picked by the Colombo Kings franchisee in the Lanka Premier League Players' Draft on Monday.

The tournament will be played between November 21-December 13 at two venues, Pallekele and Hambantota. A total of 23 matches will be played in all.

Two Indian players, former KKR batsman Manvinder Bisla and CSK pacer MS Gony have also been picked from the draft.

Dav Whatmore is a part of the coaching set-up of the Colombo franchisee in the League.

Among others, Kandy Tuskers picked up Kushal Janith as the Local Icon while Chris Gayle and Liam Plunkett were picked as the two overseas signing. The team will be coached by Hashan Tilakratne.

Galle Gladiators have Lasith Malinga as the Local Icon while Shahid Afridi and Colin Ingram are the two overseas signing. The team will be coached by Moin Khan.

Dashun Shanka is the Local Icon for Dambulla Hawks while David Miller and Carlos Brathwaite are the overseas signing. The Hawks team will be coached by Jon Lewis.

Meanwhile, Jaffna Stallions have Thisara Perera as the Local Icon and Dawid Malan and Wanindu Hasaranga as the overseas signing. 

Lanka Premier LeagueFabian du PlessisSeparamadu Lasith MalingaAndre Dwayne RussellShahid Afridi
Related Articles
Afridi to miss at least two LPL matches after missing flight
Afridi was named the captain of Galle Gladiators after Sri Malinga Sarfaraz made themselves unavailable
24 Nov 2020
Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in inaugural LPL
Pakistani players who will be seen in action in the league, include Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Aamir, Ehsan Ali, Azam Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shoaib Malik
22 Nov 2020
Gayle, Plunkett, Sarfaraz pull out of LPL
The LPL is scheduled to start on November 26 with a clash between Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers in Hambantota
19 Nov 2020
Kandy Tuskers rope in Munaf Patel for LPL
The former India pacer will pair up with former India teammate Irfan Pathan in the tournament
18 Nov 2020
Pathan to play for Kandy Tuskers in LPL
The LPL is scheduled to be played from November 21 to December 13
01 Nov 2020
Five overseas players including Russell, du Plessis pull out of LPL
The five-team tournament is scheduled to be held at two venues - Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium
27 Oct 2020
Gayle, Sammy among others in Lanka Premier League auctions
Five teams named after the Sri Lankan cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will take part
12 Sep 2020
Delayed Sri Lanka Premier League to begin mid-November
The 23-match Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be held from November 14 to December 6, with matches in Dambulla, Kandy and Hambantota
03 Sep 2020
Irfan Pathan among players showing interest in Lanka Premier League: Report
The BCCI does not allow active Indian players to take part in overseas T20 leagues but Pathan is believed to have been cleared as he has already retired
01 Aug 2020
Rashid, Russell, Finch among top Hundred picks
Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga and Kagiso Rabada were also unpicked
21 Oct 2019
Cricket like never before
Term of use
Privacy Policy
Cookies Policy
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved