England name unchanged squad for series decider against South Africa

back icon
31 Aug 2022 | 10:00 AM
authorcricket.com staff

England name unchanged squad for series decider against South Africa

Zak Crawley holds onto his spot in the team despite a string of lukewarm performances

After an emphatic win by an innings and 85 runs against South Africa at Old Trafford in Manchester, Ben Stokes has announced an unchanged team for the series decider set to take place at Kia Oval starting from Thursday, September 8. 

Ben Stokes and Brendon McCullum have opted to go for the same 14-member group, which was picked for the first two Test matches. Despite the defeat at the Home of Cricket, which was the first under the leadership of Stokes, England just made one change to the playing XI for the second Test replacing Matthew Potts with Ollie Robinson. 

The move paid massive dividends as Robinson was the pick of the bowlers for the home team as he scalped four wickets in his 15-over spell in the second innings to power England to a comprehensive win against the Proteas in the second Test to level the series.

Uncapped batter Harry Brook will have to wait for his Test debut. 

England squad for the third Test

Zak Crawley, Alex Lees, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (Captain), Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson, Harry Brook, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts

shareGray Share
England vs South AfricaSouth Africa tour of England, 2022EnglandSouth AfricaBen StokesZak CrawleyStuart BroadJames Anderson

Related Articles

No Articles found
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 cricket.com | All rights reserved