Kohli was incorrectly ruled out on Day 1, says Warne

back icon
safari
04 Dec 2021 | 05:43 AM
authorPTI

Kohli was incorrectly ruled out on Day 1, says Warne

The leg-spinner believes umpires are often guilty of wrongly interpreting the technology available at their disposal

The TV umpire could not find conclusive evidence to overturn the LBW decision against Virat Kohli on day one of the second Test against New Zealand but spin great Shane Warne feels the Indian skipper was "simply not out".

Kohli was adjudged LBW by the on-field umpire on the fourth ball of his innings though the bat and pad appeared very close to the ball.

"This is simply - not out !!!!! We often discuss technology & its use/accuracy. The main problem is the interpretation of the technology. Here's a perfect example of the ball clearly hitting the edge of the bat first," Warne tweeted.

Left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel bowled one that straightened after pitching as the Indian skipper tried to play a forward defensive stroke. Umpire Anil Chaudhary gave him out and Kohli immediately asked for a review.

The replay was inconclusive on whether it hit the bat first or the pad and as per rule, TV umpire Virender Sharma went with the decision of his on-field colleague, leaving Kohli absolutely livid.

He had a word with leg umpire Nitin Menon and was seen expressing his displeasure.

heart
shareGray Share
Tags
India vs New ZealandNew Zealand tour of India, 2021IndiaNew ZealandVirat KohliAjaz PatelShane Warne

Related Articles

No Articles found
logo
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
FacebookTwitterLinkedin
@ 2020 cricket.com | All rights reserved