back icon

News

MCC ammends non-striker run-out law after Zampa’s attempt

article_imageNEWS
Last updated on 19 Jan 2023 | 06:13 PM
Follow Us
MCC ammends non-striker run-out law after Zampa’s attempt

The ‘ambiguity’ around the law has now been removed by MCC

Adam Zampa’s run-out attempt at the non-striker’s end caused a whirlwind reaction but most importantly, posed a new question to the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) on the law. In the wake of that incident, the MCC have cleared the ‘ambiguity’ that surrounds the law with new definition. 

"Even if the non-striker had left his/her ground before the instant at which the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, once the bowler has reached that point it is no longer possible for the bowler to run out the non-striker under this Law,” stated the new law. 

What happened during the Big Bash clash was that Zampa’s appeal was turned down, with the TV umpire Shawn Craig stating that the bowling arm had already passed the point at which the ball would have been normally released. 

"MCC has therefore moved to change the wording of Law 38.3 to deliver better clarity. The current wording led some to think that if the non-striker left his/her ground before the expected moment of release, then the Run out could happen at any moment, even after the bowler had gone through the bowling action. That was never the intention of this Law, nor the way it was ever interpreted by MCC.

"It is important to note that this does not change the way the Law should be interpreted - it has been interpreted that way for the past six years, without much misunderstanding. However, the intention is that this will make things clearer."

The new law just clarifies the confusion, and insists that the ‘expected moment’ of release would still continue to be a vital point in decision making.

Related Article

Loader