back icon


Moeen Ali prioritises SA20 over ILT20

Last updated on 06 Jul 2023 | 01:27 PM
Google News IconFollow Us
Moeen Ali prioritises SA20 over ILT20

Liam Livingstone, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Naveen-ul-Haq and Dawid Malan are some of the big signings in the second edition of SA20

After opting to play in the International League T20 (ILT20) last year, 36-year-old Moeen Ali has now prioritised South Africa’s T20 league (SA20) this year. Moeen was picked by the Jo’burg Super Kings last year but the all-rounder’s prior commitment with the Sharjah Warriors tied his hands to the UAE league. 

MI Cape Town has picked up the English duo of Liam Livingstone and Tom Banton. Defending champions Sunrisers Eastern Cape have signed the English duo of Dawid Malan and Liam Dawson. Jo’burg Super Kings have also signed Essex’s pacer Sam Cook, while Durban’s Super Giants have retained Reece Topley. 

Super Giants have also added Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Naveen-ul-Haq to their already existing strong shed. MI Cape Town have retained Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Dewald Brevis and Sam Curran. Faf du Plessis and Gerald Coetzee have been signed by JSK, with the Super Giants securing the services of their opening duo - Quinton de Kock and Kyle Mayers. 

Paarl Royals have retained David Miller and Jos Buttler, while Pretoria Capitals have made Anrich Nortje their priority. The teams have time till July 31 to trade the South African players, retain overseas players, and also buy-out cricketers - both South African and overseas.

Unlike the last edition, where there was a semi-final knock-out system, this time around, ESPNCricinfo reported that there is expected to be a third knock-out clash, just like the Indian Premier League (IPL). 

SA20 pre-signed players (credit: sacricketmag)

Durban’s Super Giants

Quinton de Kock

Prenelan Subrayen

Kyle Mayers (West Indies)

Naveen Ul Haq (Afghanistan)

Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka)

Reece Topley (England)

Joburg Super Kings

Faf du Plessis

Gerald Coetzee

Moeen Ali (England)

David Wiese (Namibia)

Sam Cook (England)

Zahir Khan (Afghanistan)

MI Cape Town

Kagiso Rabada

Dewald Brevis

Sam Curran (England)

Liam Livingstone (England)

Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

Tom Banton (England)

Paarl Royals

David Miller

Corbin Bosch

Jos Buttler (England)

Obed McCoy (West Indies)

Pretoria Capitals

Migael Pretorius

Anrich Nortje

Jimmy Neesham (New Zealand)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Aiden Markram

Ottniel Baartman

Dawid Malan (England)

Liam Dawson (England)

Related Article