No Indians feature, Babar picked captain of ICC Team of the Tournament

back icon
15 Nov 2021 | 10:35 AM staff

No Indians feature, Babar picked captain of ICC Team of the Tournament

Sri Lankan duo Wanindu Hasaranga and Charith Asalanka were picked in XI while Shaheen Afridi was named as the twelfth man

There was no place for Indian players in the ICC's T20 World Cup Team of the Tournament led by Pakistan's Babar Azam which featured six different countries along with two each from South Africa and Sri Lanka.

India were eliminated in the Super 12s stage after losing their first two matches to Pakistan and New Zealand heavily as the big wins against Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia not sufficing.

Player of the Tournament David Warner and England keeper-batter Jos Buttler were chosen as the openers of the side followed by skipper Babar. Sri Lanka duo Charith Asalanka and Wanindu Hasaranga were picked alongside South Africa's Aiden Markram and Anrich Nortje.

Champions Australia had three players with leg-spinner Adam Zampa and pacer Josh Hazlewood featuring alongside Warner, while England allrounder Moeen Ali was picked alongside New Zealand Trent Boult.

One of the jury members, former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop, said: "As with any team selection there will be varying opinions, and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad.

"The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament. Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final."

The Team: David Warner (Australia), Jos Buttler (wk) (England), Babar Azam (captain, Pakistan), Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Moeen Ali (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa (Australia), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Anrich Nortje (South Africa)

Twelfth Man: Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

shareGray Share
ICC World Twenty20, 2021PakistanAustraliaNew ZealandIndiaBabar AzamJos ButtlerVirat KohliAiden Markram

Related Articles

No Articles found
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 | All rights reserved