back icon


Suryakumar, Gill set for promotion in BCCI central contract: Report

Last updated on 12 Dec 2022 | 03:11 PM
Follow Us
Suryakumar, Gill set for promotion in BCCI central contract: Report

Veteran cricketers like Rahane, Ishant and Saha could lose their contracts

A string of consistent performances has handed India batters Suryakumar Yadav and Shubman Gill a great chance of being promoted in BCCI's central contract list. Suryakumar, who is currently the No. 1 T20 International (T20I) batter could rise from category C to B as is the case with Gill.

Surya, who made his T20I debut against England in March last year, is the leading run-getter in the format in 2022. In his 31 innings, he has slammed 1,164 runs at a strike-rate in excess of 187, that included nine fifties and two centuries.

"Surya was in Group C but his performance in the last one year warrants a promotion to Group B at least, if not A. He is currently world No. 1 in T20I ICC rankings and is a serious contender in ODI team also," a senior official, who is privy to the developments told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Gill is also considered to be among the front-runners to replace Shikhar Dhawan in the ODI side has smashed 638 runs in the format this year at 70.89 to go with a healthy strike-rate of 102.6. In comparison Dhawan has scored 50 runs more than Gill this year at a significantly lesser average (34.4) and strike-rate (74.2) than the Punjab batter.

Other than Gill and Surya, we could also see India's latest ODI double centurion Ishan Kishan could receive a BCCI contract for the first time, according to the same report. Hardik Pandya, who is seen as a future T20I captain could also be elevated to Group B from C. 

The report further states that veteran cricketers like Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha who are no longer in contention for a place in the national side could miss out.

Both Rahane and Ishant were part of the Grade A in BCCI's central contract list, while Saha was one level below in Grade B. Only Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah are currently in the A+ category and receive an annual remuneration of INR 7 crore. A, B, C are valued at INR 5 crore, INR 3 crore and INR 1 crore respectively.

The list is set to be finalised during BCCI's Apex Council meeting, scheduled to be held via video conferencing on December 21.

Related Article