back icon


The Hundred 2023: Complete list of retained players (M & W)

Last updated on 16 Feb 2023 | 10:52 AM
Follow Us
The Hundred 2023: Complete list of retained players (M & W)

India's Smriti Mandhana is among the big names to have been retained by the franchises

India’s Smriti Mandhana, who earlier this week became the highest paid player at the inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL) auction, has been retained by the Southern Brave franchise for the forthcoming season of The Hundred. Mandhana was the best-performing batter for Southern Brave in the 2022 edition of the competition — 211 runs @ 30.14 and 151.79 — which saw the Anya Shrubsole-led side reach the final. 

Mandhana is one of four retentions for the Brave, who have also confirmed the retention of Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier and emerging all-rounder Freya Kemp.

On Thursday (February 16th), teams in the Hundred confirmed the retained players and on the Men’s side, Southern Brave retained as many as 11 players, with the biggest names being Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Finn Allen (overseas), James Vince and Rehan Ahmed. 

Ben Stokes, Rashid Khan, Ellyse Perry, Jos Buttler, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali and Glenn Maxwell are among the other big names to have been retained by their respective franchises. 

Across both competitions, 113 players have been retained in total, meaning 135 spots remain to be filled at The Hundred Draft.

According to the ECB, ‘Teams in the men’s competition are able to retain 10 players, and women's teams can retain four of their players’. 

While Six men’s sides have retained all 10, Welsh Fire will have eight places to fill at The Draft, at which they’ll have the first pick.

The women’s competition, notably, will be hosting a draft for the first time. Welsh Fire women, led by Tammy Beaumont, who finished bottom in the 2022 season, will get the first pick in the draft.

The draft for the 2023 edition of The Hundred will take place on March 23, while the final list for the draft is due to be confirmed on 28 February.

Complete retention list

Birmingham Phoenix 


Amy Jones - England

Ellyse Perry - Overseas

Issy Wong - England

Emily Arlott


Chris Woakes - England

Liam Livingstone

Moeen Ali

Shadab Khan - Overseas

Adam Milne - Overseas

Benny Howell

Will Smeed

Kane Richardson - Overseas

Tom Helm

Chris Benjamin

Dan Mousley

London Spirit


Heather Knight - England

Amelia Kerr - Overseas

Charlie Dean - England

Danielle Gibson


Mark Wood - England

Glenn Maxwell - Overseas

Nathan Ellis - Overseas

Liam Dawson

Dan Lawrence

Zak Crawley

Jordan Thompson

Mason Crane

Adam Rossington

Chris Wood

Ravi Bopara

Manchester Originals


Sophie Ecclestone - England

Deandra Dottin - Overseas

Emma Lamb - England

Ellie Threlkeld


Jos Buttler - England

Wanindu Hasaranga - Overseas

Phil Salt

Jamie Overton

Tom Hartley

Richard Gleeson

Paul Walter

Josh Little - Overseas

Wayne Madsen

Tom Lammonby

Mitchell Stanley

Northern Superchargers


Alyssa Healy - Overseas

Linsey Smith

Hollie Armitage

Bess Heath


Ben Stokes - England

Adil Rashid

Harry Brook

Adam Lyth

Adam Hose

Brydon Carse

Matthew Potts

David Wiese - Overseas

Wayne Parnell - Overseas

Callum Parkinson

Oval Invincibles


Marizanne Kapp - Overseas

Alice Capsey - England

Lauren Winfield-Hill

Tash Farrant - England


Sam Curran - England

Sunil Narine - Overseas

Will Jacks

Jason Roy

Tom Curran

Sam Billings

Saqib Mahmood

Jordan Cox

Gus Atkinson

Danny Briggs

Nathan Sowter

Southern Brave


Smriti Mandhana - Overseas

Lauren Bell - England

Maia Bouchier

Freya Kemp - England


Jofra Archer - England

James Vince

Chris Jordan

Tymal Mills

Rehan Ahmed

Craig Overton

Finn Allen - Overseas

George Garton

James Fuller

Alex Davies

Joe Weatherley

Trent Rockets


Nat Sciver-Brunt - England

Katherine Sciver-Brunt - England

Alana King - Overseas

Bryony Smith


Joe Root - England

Rashid Khan - Overseas

Dawid Malan

Alex Hales

Lewis Gregory

Luke Wood

Colin Munro - Overseas

Sam Cook

Daniel Sams - Overseas

Samit Patel

Matt Carter

Welsh Fire


Tammy Beaumont - England

Hayley Matthews - Overseas

Annabel Sutherland - Overseas


Jonny Bairstow - England

Joe Clarke

Ollie Pope

David Payne

Jake Ball

George Scrimshaw

Related Article