Aakash Sivasubramaniam
06 Sep 2022 | 09:26 AM

Van der Dussen misses out as South Africa name T20WC squad

Temba Bavuma, on the other hand, returns to lead the side

South Africa have named a pretty strong 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which sees their skipper, Temba Bavuma return to the fold. The 33-year-old Rassie van der Dussen, who was earlier ruled out of the England Test series with a fractured left index figure misses out from the 15-man squad. 

Tristan Stubbs, who impressed the selectors with a 28-ball 72, finds himself a place in the squad and potentially, could replace the injured van der Dussen in the playing XI. Rilee Rossouw, on the back of impressive displays in the T20 Blast and the three-match T20I series retains a place in the squad. Apart from that, there are no shockers in the squad, with the usual suspects finding themselves a spot in the 15-member squad. 

Andile Phehlukwayo misses out, as South Africa name a strong pace-bowling unit in the form of Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi with Dwaine Pretorius and Wayne Parnell as the all-rounder. The spin duo of Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi are entrusted with the responsibility of handling the middle-overs. 

Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Phelukwayo will travel with the squad for the event Down Under. 

Squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs

Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo

Related Articles

No Articles found