VHT 2022 | Bawne, Sarfaraz and Avesh headline in respective wins

back icon
23 Nov 2022 | 03:41 PM
authorAakash Sivasubramaniam

VHT 2022 | Bawne, Sarfaraz and Avesh headline in respective wins

Karnataka, Assam, Mumbai and UP too register a win ahead of the quarterfinal stage

Bawne’s 184 helps Maharashtra outclass Puducherry

Ankit Bawne followed his heroics against Mizoram with a thundering 184 against Puducherry, stitching two important partnerships with Rahul Tripathi and Azim Kazi, as Maharashtra posted a daunting total of 379. Sagar Udeshi and Rohan Suresh were on the receiving end of some trashing from the Maharashtra captain, who launched an assault after posting 95 in the earlier fixture against Mizoram. 

In reply, Puducherry were reduced to 70/3 in the run-chase, but a partnership from Paras Dogra (62) and Ankit Sharma (107), helped the side put up a spirited display during the run-chase. But ultimately, they fell flat by 105 runs, as they could only post 274 after their 50 overs. Manoj Ingale and Satyajeet Bachhav, were the pick of the bowlers, with figures of 2/28, and 2/26. 

Brief Scores: Maharashtra 379/7 in 50 overs (Ankit Bawne 184*, Azim Kazi 88; Ankit Sharma 2/40) beat Puducherry 274/7 (Ankit Sharma 107*, Paras Dogra 62; Manoj Ingale 2/28, Satyajeet Bachhav 2/26) by 105 runs

Result: Maharashtra qualify for the quarterfinal stage

Faiz Fazal helps Vidarbha go past spirited Jharkhand

Despite losing Atharva Taide relatively early in the innings, Vidarbha put on a show with the bat on the back of a crazy innings from the opener Faiz Fazal. Fazal launched a scathing attack on Jharkhand, with 120 runs off just 133 balls, in a knock that comprises of 11 fours and four sixes. A late flurry from both Ganesh Satish and Apoorv Wankhade took Vidarbha to a fighting total of 297 at the Salt Lake stadium in Kolkata. 

If not for the heroics from Saurabh Tiwary, Jharkhand would have picked the early bus back home, losing four wickets having put just 42 runs on board. However, a fighting performance from Tiwary, 138 off 131 balls, with 12 boundaries and three sixes, combined with the knocks from Kumar Kushagra (55) and Anukul Roy (39) took Jharkhand agonizingly close to the total, as they fell short by just nine runs in a thriller. 

Brief Scores: Vidarbha (Faiz Fazal 120, Ganesh Satish 55; Bal Krishna 2/45) beat Jharkhand (Saurabh Tiwary 138, Kumar Kushagra 55; Akshay Karnewar 2/49) by nine runs

Sarfaraz Khan continues sizzling run

Railways put one heck of a show in Ranchi, as Pratham Singh, scored an outstanding century against a strong Mumbai bowling unit, with eight boundaries and six sixes in a knock that always had the Mumbai side on their toes. Mohammad Saif too contributed immensely, with a 77-ball 92, as the Mumbai bowlers were on the receiving end of some carnage during the first innings, as Railways posted a humungous total of 337 after their 50 overs. 

But Mumbai, being this powerhouse, chased the total down in just 48.3 overs, thanks to the scintillating century from the in-form Sarfaraz Khan. After leading Mumbai earlier to a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy title, Sarfaraz continued his golden run, with a 94-ball 117, a knock that single-handedly took Mumbai home, after they were stuttering at 107/3. Skipper Ajinkya Rahane too contributed with an 82-ball 88, as Mumbai confirmed their place in the quarterfinal. 

Brief Score: Mumbai 338/5 (Sarfaraz Khan 117, Ajinkya Rahane 88; Susheel Kumar 3/53) beat Railways 337/5 (Pratham Singh 109, Saif 92; Tushar Deshpande 1/53) by five wickets

Avesh Khan runs through Baroda as Madhya Pradesh win big

It was a field day for the Madhya Pradesh batters, as four out of their top five batters scored a half-century here in Mumbai. Shubham Sharma was the pick of the batters, with an 85-ball 88, as contributions from Yash Dubey (58), Himanshu Mantri (60), Rajat Patidar (52), all helped the side post a gigantic target of 350 for Baroda. 

Despite a plethora of big names in the Baroda setup, all they could manage is 59 runs on board, in probably one of the worst nights for the domestic side, as no batter posted a double-digit score on board. Skipper Ambati Rayudu and opener Aditya Waghmode top-scored with nine runs each. On the bowling front, it was a raw bowling show from India’s 50-over prospect Avesh Khan, who starred with figures of 6/37, probably a night that he will remember for years to come. 

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh (Shubham Sharma 88, Himanshu Mantri 60; Lukman Meriwala 2/61) beat Baroda (Ambati Rayudu 9, Aditya Waghmode 9; Avesh Khan 6/37) by 290 runs

Other notable results: Karnataka beat Rajasthan by 60 runs, Assam surprise Delhi with a 25-run win, Uttar Pradesh slender past Saurashtra by two wickets, Gujarat beat Himachal by eight wickets, Hyderabad beat Chandigarh by 110 runs, Punjab beat Nagaland by 6 wickets, Jammu and Kashmir beat Uttarakhand by nine wickets, no result between Tamil Nadu and Kerala

shareGray Share
Jharkhand vs VidarbhaMumbai vs PuducherryBaroda vs Madhya PradeshVijay Hazare Trophy, 2022MaharashtraPuducherryVidarbhaJharkhandMumbaiMadhya PradeshAnkit BawneSarfaraz KhanAvesh Khan

Related Articles

MP fightback after Sarfaraz’s defiant 134
Madhya Pradesh ended the day on 123/1, behind by 251 runs
usercricket.com staff
23 Jun 2022
Ranji round-up: Tiway-Ahmed partnership keeps Bengal alive, Tamore’s century propels Mumbai
It was a tough day in office for both Bengal and Uttar Pradesh in their hopes to advance to the final
usercricket.com staff
15 Jun 2022
Mumbai, Bengal start as favourites as semi-final round beckons
While Mumbai will take on Uttar Pradesh at the Just Cricket Academy Ground, Bengal and Madhya Pradesh be vying for a final spot in Alur
userBastab K Parida
13 Jun 2022
Ranji Trophy Highlights: Parkar's record-breaking day highlights batter’s day out across Bengaluru
Batters continue to make merry in the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals barring
userBastab K Parida
07 Jun 2022
Yastika's effort in vain as Maharashtra beat Baroda by six wickets to enter final
Maharashtra Opener Shivali Shinde made 44 off 37 balls and Tejal Hasanbis 33 off 32 to ensure that her side chase down the target comfortably
usercricket.com staff
02 May 2022
Jharkhand take 1008-run lead en route to quarterfinals berth
Jharkhand qualified for the quarterfinal stage of the Ranji Trophy with a lead of 1008 runs
16 Mar 2022
Seamers dictate terms as Saurashtra and Services progress to semis
Services will now take on Himachal in the semifinals, while Saurashtra will come face to face against Tamil Nadu
userHardik Worah
22 Dec 2021
Vidarbha, Karnataka, MP teams to beat in Vijay Hazare pre-quarters
The knockout stages will kick-off on Sunday, December 19
18 Dec 2021
SMAT 2021: How the quarterfinals panned out
Tamil Nadu, Hyderabad, Karnataka and Vidarbha registered wins to progress to semis
userSameer Allana
18 Nov 2021
MI post their highest IPL total, courtesy of 38 boundaries and highest 10 overs score
Here are few noteworthy stats from Match 55 of IPL 2021 between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi
userAnirudh Kasargod
08 Oct 2021
Cricket like never before
Follow us on
@ 2020 cricket.com | All rights reserved