back icon

News

Why was Afghanistan awarded two extra runs despite Nabi's deflection

article_imageMATCH STORIES
Last updated on 17 Jan 2024 | 05:40 PM
Follow Us
Why was Afghanistan awarded two extra runs despite Nabi's deflection

Mohammed Nabi instantly claimed that he hadn’t changed the direction of his run - hence, the throw hitting him wasn’t on him

There was never a dull moment in the third and final T20I between India and Afghanistan in Bengaluru. While the moments were enough to cajole the fans into having their money’s worth, the Super Over saw a mini controversy of sorts - the epilogue of Rohit Sharma’s never-ending saga with umpire Virender Sharma.

On the last ball of the Super Over bowled by Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Nabi missed the wide yorker by some margin, but started running as if his life was dependent on it. Wicket-keeper Sanju Samson collected the ball immediately and threw it in the direction of the stumps, but the ball hit a running Mohammed Nabi on his legs. 

It got deflected off his legs and the ball moved towards mid-on, where Virat Kohli was stationed. Ideally, the balls should have been dead now - but the Afghanistan batters - Nabi and Gurbaz - kept on running further to collect another couple of runs. 

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were clueless about it and started complaining about the same to the umpire, Sharma. It was when the confusion started.

However, Mohammed Nabi instantly claimed that he hadn’t changed the direction of his run - hence, the throw hitting him wasn’t on him. That was completely fair and within the rules of the game - it was down to the umpire to determine whether Nabi was intentional about it or not. He concurred with the batter and awarded two runs to the visiting side, as they reached 16/1 in that over.

Related Article

Loader