back icon


Green returns as Australia announce all-pace attack for the fourth Test

Last updated on 18 Jul 2023 | 05:08 PM
Google News IconFollow Us
Green returns as Australia announce all-pace attack for the fourth Test

Meanwhile, David Warner has retained his place in the playing XI for the Old Trafford Test, and Josh Hazlewood replaces Scott Boland

With less than 18 hours to go for the fourth Ashes Test at Old Trafford in Manchester, Australia have announced their playing XI, with Cameron Green returning to the side in place of Todd Murphy

The all-rounder missed the third Test due to a minor hamstring injury and has recovered fully to replace the off-spinner in the fourth game. 

For the first time in over a decade, Australia will go into a Test match without a frontline spinner in their attack after Nathan Lyon was ruled out of the series with a calf injury. 

In his place, Murphy featured in the playing XI for the third Test at Headingley but was not effective enough for Pat Cummins to give him another go in Manchester. 

"We are really excited by Todd, we think he's a gun, we love having him around, he's got a big future. It was more conditions the way I used him, as opposed to how he bowled," Cummins said in the pre-match press conference. 

The Australian skipper also confirmed David Warner will open the batting alongside Usman Khawaja in Manchester. The southpaw endured a dismal outing in Leeds and was dismissed by Stuart Broad in both innings, creating plenty of chatter about his place in the side. 

However, Cummins has backed his senior pro to come back into form heading into the fourth game. "Davey didn't have his best game last week at Headingley, but prior to that, he has looked really good."

"He has had three 50-run opening partnerships, which can be rare over in England," he added. 

Another change in the side is the inclusion of Josh Hazlewood in place of Scott Boland, who has failed to create any impact in the three matches. 

Australia's XI for the fourth Test:

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (Captain), Josh Hazlewood

Related Article