back icon


Six Indians named in Rohit Sharma-led ICC ODI team of the year

Last updated on 23 Jan 2024 | 08:07 AM
Follow Us
Six Indians named in Rohit Sharma-led ICC ODI team of the year

Two from Australia, two from South Africa and one from New Zealand also made the cut

Following a stellar show in One-Day Internationals (ODI) and the World Cup, as many as six Indian players have been selected in the ICC ODI team of the year. Rohit Sharma has been named captain of the side, which consists of Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami.

Gill (1,584), Kohli (1,377) and Rohit (1,255) finished as the top three run-getters in the format in 2023. Indian bowlers dominated the wicket-taking charts last year, too, with Kuldeep (49) finishing with the most wickets, ahead of Siraj (44) and Shami (43). 

Notably, Shami finished as the leading wicket-taker in the 2023 World Cup, finishing with 24 wickets at 10.70 in seven games to help India to the final

Among the World Cup-winning Australian contingent, Travis Head - the player of the World Cup final and their premier spinner Adam Zampa made the cut. 

Following consistent performances in 2023 South African duo of Heinrich Klaasen and Marco Jansen have been named in the XI alongside New Zealand's dashing batter Daryl Mitchell, who scored  1,204 runs at 52.34 with a strike-rate in excess of 100.

ICC ODI team of the year: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Travis Head, Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Marco Jansen, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Related Article